When I should be writing, Alice Gaines

How I spend my time when I should be writing:

On Saturday, I spent the entire day driving from Oakland to outside Sacramento for a wine party.  My friend, Roger Smith, who plays keyboards for Tower of Power, has his own winery, Bump City Winery.  I went up for his wine party.  Here’s Roger’s pick-up band playing at the party.  wineparty Roger is standing at the keyboard on the right.  On saxophone was Tower of Power’s lead sax player, Tom Politzer.  Note the young woman on bass in the back.  She really tore it up!

So, I got hopelessly lost on the way home, wandering around on levee roads on the Sacramento Delta.  When I finally called On Star, they gave me a roundabout path home that included two ferries across Delta water ways.  At least, I got home with this:

wineIf you know anything about the Bay Area, you’ll recognize the picture on the label as the San Francisco skyline.  Everybody knows! that Bump City is Oakland, not the city across the bay.  I tease Roger about this at every opportunity.

So, how did I spend Sunday when I should have been writing?  Making pasta sauce.  Here’s my favorite recipe.  I use my own homegrown tomatoes that I’ve peeled, seeded, and frozen.  I also use my own bell pepper and basil.  And my own chicken broth.  You can use a couple of cans of whole tomatoes.  Just crush the tomatoes with your fingers.  You can use water instead of chicken broth, but the broth makes the sauce richer.

In a food processor, make a pestata of lots of peeled garlic cloves, some sprigs of basil, about three pieces of bacon (or pancetta or guancale, if you have those), about half a large onion, and a small bell pepper.  Grind it all up really well.

Heat a bunch of good olive oil in a large pan.  When hot, add the pestata.  Cook for a while.  Make a hot spot in the middle of the pan, and add a few tablespoons of tomato sauce.  Add some red pepper flakes and cook pretty well.  Add the tomatoes and cook down.  Add some chicken broth and cook for a few hours, adding more broth as required.  When it’s sauce the way you like it, you can freeze it in serving batches.  In the middle of winter, this sauce puts summer in my mouth.

peppersBy the way, my Regency romance, Captain and Countess, is on sale at Amazon for 99 cents.  For a limited time only.

https://www.amazon.com/Captain-Countess-Alice-Gaines-ebook/dp/B00RUP60TI/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

If you’d like to join my newsletter mailing list, visit my blog:

http://www.alicegaines.blogspot.com

 

Categories: Alice Gaines, recipe, Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “When I should be writing, Alice Gaines

  1. Reblogged this on The Owl Lady.

    Like

Leave a Reply

