Writing Military Romance

I’m going to make a confession on this Veteran’s Day. I may never write a military story. It’s not that I don’t appreciate our men and women who serve, or that I don’t personally find a man in uniform to be hotter than hot – I do!

My father was a WWII army veteran (No, I did not mix up my wars!), and my eldest son served in the air force following 9/11, going to both Afghanistan and Iraq. I’ve asked myself if these could be reasons why writing military romance doesn’t appeal to me. After all, who wants to think of their father or their son while writing erotic romance, right?

Ew! No. Just no.

However… I already know I can keep those thoughts out of the equation. I wrote Stray Lovers, about a veterinarian and an animal control officer, while I worked in a veterinarian office. Winters’ Thaw, a Cougar story, when two of my sons were in their twenties. Oh, and Lesson Learned, a m/m college romance, when my youngest two sons were in college.

So why not military romance?

You see, as incredibly proud as I am for my son’s 6 years of service and everything it has brought him in the following years, not to mention the fact that he came home safely every time, his journey with the military was the hardest time I’ve ever had as a mother. He set the worry bar. I’ve often said that when your eldest leaves home to go to war, having the other kids go off to college is a piece of cake.

I’m sure this specific writing block will pass. I am grateful to my son, my father and all men and women who serve in the military. I love reading military romance in all sub genres, so it makes sense that I’d write one someday.

Hey, what if the heroine is a military mom? Hmmm…

9781419923302Stray Lovers

Buy Link

Lovestruck veterinarian Marcus Hill thought he could wait for a relationship with Jane, but he’s offered his dream job in another state. It’s time to go.Headstrong Jane Tipper is going to miss her best friend, but she understands why he’s leaving. She, too, has a career agenda she won’t alter for anything or anyone.

Never again.

As their last week together approaches, their desire for each other hits high gear. Ending as friends with benefits sounds good in theory and feels even better. What could be better than a week of incredibly hot sex with your best friend? Neither one regrets it. Until it’s time for Marcus to go.

66378_1303510327234_123946_n

Winters’ Thaw

Buy Link

OR nurse Elizabeth Winters is forty-one, divorced and determined to figure out what all the fuss is about sex. Her ex spent over twenty years crushing her sensuality and it is long past time for release. Literally, dammit! In her quest, she befriends a group of women her age who admit having a passion for younger men—and thus begins a challenge…

Thirty-year-old engineer Kevin Springer loves solving puzzles and “Elle” has him aching to fit the pieces. The more he gets to know her, the more intrigued he becomes, especially in bed. He quickly realizes he wants more than her offered no-strings-attached, wild sex, but convincing her to take a chance on a relationship isn’t going to be easy.

perf5.000x8.000.indd

Lesson Learned

Buy Link

Adam Warren is counting down the days until he can put “Professor” next to his name—and his disastrous past with Tyler Ford behind him.

When a fluke puts Tyler in Adam’s class, the graduate assistant faces some hard choices while Tyler faces an uphill battle for a second chance at first love.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

