Win My Handiwork by Alice Gaines

various yarnsJust look at those colors!

I have to admit that I love romance novel covers in large part because of the intense colors.  I feel the same way about flowers.  The more of the rainbow I’m looking at, the happier I am.

I bought the vibrant golden yarn in the picture on a whim.  It’s part silk/part alpaca, and it cost a bundle.  I have no idea what I’ll  make with it.

A while back, I decided that I might as well give away my hand-knitted and hand-crocheted projects to my readers to thank them for trusting me with their money in exchange for a story that popped into my head.  I gave away one cowl I made, but I wasn’t happy with the size.  I wanted it bigger.  I tried again using the exact number of stitches in the pattern and ended up with this.  Mission accomplished.

pink cowl

I’ll be raffling this off later in the month to celebrate the release of my novella, Royal Affair, part 4 of The Princes of Danislova series.  If you’d like to join my mailing list and enter to win, sign up at my website.

http://www.alicegaines.blogspot.com

Then, I got some bulkier yarns and knitted up these cowls so quickly, I think I’ll give all of them away in another raffle in the next few months.multiple cowls  Here’s a detail of the white one, which I rather like.  I think I’ll get more yarn and make this again.

white cowl 2

I have to admit I look forward to late afternoons when I can put on junk TV and sit and knit or crochet.  (Hello, Judge Judy!).  It takes me back to my childhood when I’d visit my grandmother’s cottage behind our house after school and watch her favorite soap opera while we did needlework.  I’m currently teaching myself how to knit in the round using double-pointed needles.  I hope soon to be churning out wrist warmers to give to my readers.

If you’d like to enter to win one of my creations, join my newsletter.  I don’t send too many letters out, and when I do, I’ll be giving something way.  You can sign up at http://www.alicegaines.blogspot.com  I hope to see you there!

 

Categories: Contest, Giveaway | Tags: | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Win My Handiwork by Alice Gaines

  1. June M.

    Love these. And those yarns are lovely…the blue is so bright and I love the multicolored ones 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

