Within the Cocoon of Silence…

7d099184000be060ef270958fc75a4ce

The silence is loud if you’re listening.

… is when the magic comes to life.

There are days when my mind is quiet and others when the words flow with no end in sight. Constant ramblings, snippets of story lines, dialogue, scene ideas, and what have you.

Today, though, has been a hushed day with little to no extra chatter. The normal built-in to-do list is on autopilot with little to no luck of turning it off, but from there, the home front is still. Calm even.

Come to think of it, this entire week has been quiet, with no rush to click open Facebook with some sort of sassy comment or quick words of encouragement I like to share at times. At first, I was worried. Worried because the words were few and I am in the middle of a story. A scary place to have a loss of words.

However, during the stillness of this morning, before the children roused and started their daily weekend activities, something occurred to me. It’s okay NOT to have something to say all the time. It’s okay to give myself the time to turn reflective and let the daily humdrum fade away. You know what I’m talking about? That special ‘you’ time?

What if this is the calm before the storm? The stolen time before all hell breaks loose and I have so much to say there won’t be enough time in the day to get it all out of my head? I crave those days, truly. But what am I to learn when the words slow? Should I force them or take a beat and let the silence speak?

In the last few days I’ve come to realize my muse is sneaky and clever, willing to give me my answers, if I only listen. Letting the thoughts, ideas and words accumulate, marinate if you will, is just as powerful as typing away word after word. I discovered this recently when my muse woke me from a dead sleep and gave me exactly what I needed to continue a scene. Perplexing and mind opening how it took the wee hours of the morning for my mind to be quiet enough to find what I needed.

In just a few hours I begin two long projects that I have no doubt will consume my every thought for the next four months. These projects have weighed on my mind for the last year and a half. My muse knows this and I suspect is preparing for the heavy work load, hoarding the creative energy until it’s time to let it overflow and pour onto the page.

For now I must embrace the quiet, enjoy the stillness, and let my mind harness the creativeness the universe is providing. My muse is smart enough to listen.

I just need to accept the quiet as a gift and sit back, ready for what is to come.

In the mean time, tell me what you do when the silence comes? Do you like to disconnect and relax with a good book? Take to writing in a journal maybe? Something I would love to pick up as a habit, by the way. Or do you just settle in for a good long ‘you’ time?

***Leave a comment with your answer and I’ll pick two winners for a Kindle copy of any title on my back list. Don’t forget to leave your email addy! AND I’ve extended my two day weekly giveaway so that everyone here can join in at this link HERE.***

Connect with me on Facebook or Twitter or visit my website at talinaperkins.com. Now you can also find me on TSU! I love chatting with readers, so don’t be shy!

Until next time, keep it sexy!

tp 200

Categories: Giveaway, Hexing the Alpha, Life, military romance, paranormal romance, shifter romance, Talina Perkins, Talina Perkins, werewolf romance, witches, writing | Tags: , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Within the Cocoon of Silence…

  1. Glenda S. Hefty

    I loved that you pointed out that “listen” and “silent” share the same letters..something to ponder for sure. I read when I have times of silence. My reading time is sometimes not nearly as much as I’d like…between the library books I check out and the pile of my own I’ve yet to read I really don’t have the time I need to keep up. Maybe someday when I retire? I have an in-home registered daycare so I treasure silence. I’m open almost twelve hours and love the little voices but also enjoy that time when they are all gone home.

    Like

    • Glenda, thank you for stopping in! I home school my four kiddos so I understand the need for silence after the children go home, or in my case slip off to bed. If you see this, please reach out with your email addy so I can get your prize to you! -Talina

      Like

  2. Jana L

    I like to relax with a good book & a mug of hot tea. Thanks. janaleah64 (at) yahoo (dot) com

    Like

  3. Hi Jana! Thank you for stopping in. You can’t go wrong with a good book. 😉 I’ll be in contact with your prize! -Talina

    Like

  4. Angel Payne

    LOVED this! Thank you for the reminder to rest in the silence. it’s so important for us all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

