Heat up with Saint Valentine!

Did you know that Valentine’s Day is named after the 3rd Century Catholic priest, Saint Valentine? He so believed in love and romance that he risked his life to marry couples. Therefore, he gained the reputation as a legendary Cupid. Sure, the story of Saint Valentine has been molded, shaped, tweaked and admired into a tale that outweighs fact, but one thing we can’t deny, he did indeed die for his belief in love.

Hopefully, all of you are experiencing love and romance daily. But why not make VDay 2015 the best yet? VDay doesn’t have to cost a fortune, because love is free. Traditionally, VDay was celebrated by making handmade cards plastered with hearts, flowers and love notes then giving them to those we admire. Try your hand at crafting a card. Contemporary VDay is celebrated with dinner, gifts of champagne, chocolate and roses. And lots of proposals!  Why not prepare a romantic dinner at home? A single red rose packs a huge romantic statement.

What are your plans for VDay? Or do you have a special VDay story to share? I’d love to hear. Comment on this post and you’ll be entered to win a FREE book of mine, your choice. One winner will be chosen randomly. 

By chance, have you seen my newest cowboy? Pre-order him today for ONLY 99 cents!!!! Now who can tell me you wouldn’t want this luscious cowboy for a Valentine.CowboyParadise2500

“Ben, something’s in my pants.”

He dropped the basket to the ground. “What is it?”

“I don’t know, but…ouch!” She froze. “It stung me!” Afraid if she moved an inch either direction whatever it was would sting her again. “I think it’s a bee.”

“What does the sting feel like?”

“Are you serious? A sting! Like someone shot a staple into my butt.” Tears came to her eyes.

“Drop your pants, Cara.” He was beside her in a flash.

The back of her thigh started to throb in pain but she continued to stare at him in confusion. “I’m not dropping my pants.” She was mortified.

“If it’s a wasp, it’ll sting you again,” he warned.

Fear washed over her, but not from the wasp. If she pulled down her pants he would see her panties, not the pretty, lace ones she wore once upon a time. Not the panties she believed a man like Ben would wish to see on a woman. Cara’s panties certainly wouldn’t be found in a sexy lingerie shop. These were the comfy panties, as she liked to call them, she started wearing when James continually told her how fat she was getting. They didn’t cover up enough for her liking.

Had she gone mad?

And why did she care one hoot what underwear she was wearing? If Ben didn’t like them then so what!

She smiled. Wow…she was getting the aggressive thing down. Diedre would be pleased.

“Do you need some help?” he asked.

She smacked his hand away. “No. I’ll do it, but you have to turn your head.”

“Cara, we don’t have time for this. Is it not processing that you could be stung again? This is for emergency reasons only.” The sincerity in his expression made it easier to do what she knew must be done.

Unbuttoning and unzipping her jeans, he was polite enough to keep his gaze on her face as she slowly slid the denim down her hips and thighs, slipping them to her knees. All of James’s cruel and degrading verbal assaults crawled through her mind as she stood there, partially naked. James had been the only man who’d seen her without clothes. And he’d never liked what he saw.

“Where did it sting you, sweetheart?” His gentle voice soothed her—a little.

“On my thigh, the back.”

“Turn and let me take a look.” His gaze slipped past her chest, her stomach and she crossed her arms over her chest, vulnerability easing through her.  “If it’s a bee sting you could still have the stinger in your skin, which could cause infection. We can’t let that happen. You’re in Nirvana and that bee just wanted a little taste of honey.”

How did he do that? How did he make everything seem okay? How did he make her fears seem ridiculous? Because in actuality, they were silly. She was being silly. James was gone and she was moving on. The internal scars were fading.

Reluctantly, she turned and closed her eyes. His breath rushed from his lungs and she jerked. Then he was quiet for the longest time. Was he silently gawking at her large butt or her huge thighs? She had never claimed to be a supermodel and had never wanted to be. She read in a magazine that men liked juicy behinds.Of course, what did juicy mean? Seconds turned into a minute. She started to turn back but he stopped her with a hand on her waist.  “What is it, Ben?”

“It’s definitely a bee sting, darlin’.” His voice was smooth as silk.

“Then get it out fast. This is awkward standing here with my pants down around my ankles.”

“Well, sweetheart, there’s a problem.”

Wanna own Ben? Here’s the buy link…

http://www.amazon.com/Cowboy-Paradise-Cowboys-Nirvana-Book-ebook/dp/B00SZKIZTK/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1423584408&sr=8-8&keywords=rhonda+lee+carver

Website www.rhondaleecarver.com

Blog http://rhondaleecarver-author.blogspot.com/

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/7355117

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rhonda-Lee-Carver-Author/155568577811615?ref=hl

TSU https://www.tsu.co/RhondaLeeCarver

Rhonda’s Rowdy Readers Street Team https://www.facebook.com/groups/471259293018665/

Newsletter http://rhondaleecarver.us7.list-manage1.com/subscribe?u=90e1b85f9dc4475cf9cbd66b4&id=4e770eb50b

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Heat up with Saint Valentine!

  1. We have nothing planned we are both out of town a lot so we weren’t sure if we would be together or not so we are playing it by ear!!!!! Best Valentine’s Day present I ever got was my Kindle Fire….he created even more of a monster( I love to read…he always said I worked to pay for my “nasty” habit) and now I one click(probably need an intervention but don’t tell him…LOL)

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your newest Nirvana cowboy with us!

    Every Valentine’s Day my sister & I would find a red plastic heart shaped box, with a clear cover, filled with red hot imperials at our breakfast spot. My Mom got them for us every year we were at home. I haven’t been able to find any for YEARS and I searched extra hard because my Mom just recently lost her battle with cancer and I just REALLY wanted to find one again, especially since my sister was flying in from out-of-state to “supervise” my Dad for the weekend LOL! I wanted to give her one for old time’s sake; instead I gave her a bag of Brach’s Red Hot Imperials and a heart shaped tin from Altoids.

    Anyway, it’s just stuff like that which makes up the memories of my Valentine’s Days, so I try to do something similar for my own kids. The milk always gets a squirt of red food coloring; I color a small tub of margarine pink and add in red or pink sanding sugar with cinnamon then make my kids heart toasts (cut out with cookie cutter) for breakfasts. I also take and bake bacon into the shapes of X’s and O’s, then fry up some eggs — and that is their special breakfast each year! Dinner is always veggie spaghetti (because it is pink-ish) and meatballs with red sauce or heart shaped pizzas. Then they always get a little bit of candy, some gum, and everyone gets a book or two.

    The Man and I usually just exchange cards. We figure that in the beginning of our relationship it was all about us, and once we’re empty nesters it will be all about us, so while the kids are around we just take time to give each other an extra long hug, kiss and words of love… and then make it all about the Spawn. I did get him a t-shirt this year and a couple times he’s gotten me roses delivered (he normally works out of town a lot) but I really detest when he does that, because they are always so jacked up in price this time of year!!

    Snarky Mom Michelle
    Snarky Mom Reads…. http://www.snarkymomreads.com

    Like

  3. I love that story. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  4. Probably what I been doing for months, taking care of my mom. But I do thank the Lord every day for her. Hope everyone enjoys their Valentines day!!

    Like

  5. stefany burroughs

    thanjk you so much! I think I am on barn chores in the morning, then probalby just hanging out and finally relaxing, or else doing homework/studying

    Like

  6. My plans aren’t exciting. I have to work all day and night. It’s my weekend for staying in a transition house for parolees and women on probation. I don’t have a sweetie right now anyway. Lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

