A Little Tequila, a Sunset, Steamy Sex and Things Can Get Explosive!

Or at least they do south of the Mexican border!

Ever wonder about the how or the why behind an author picking a story’s setting? Whether the characters are molded around the place or if the characters dictate the location? There’s a multitude of answers to this question, with no real set answer, but there’s still a kernel of wonder when you flip to the first page of a new story.

Every time I pick up a book, location is everything (Not true, it’s the cover that pulls me in. More on that in a minute J). I want to know where I’m going when I step into a new story. I love it when blurbs and covers hint at the destination like it’s a little secret of its own to be discovered. Hmm. Doesn’t that sound familiar? Like a pre-planned trip you only have to show up for.

H51233

Inspiration behind explosive scene in Controlled Heat

 

As romance readers are we not all for exotic adventures of not only places, but of the heart as well? It’s why we love the romance genre, right? Billionaire heroes matched with heroines who don’t give a damn about the hero’s bank account, but still manage to make their girl swoon with the most lavish of trips (50 Shades anyone?). Or how about Latin lovers who draw us into their culture with a flourish of their Spanish flair that strokes our imaginations and our romantic sides? All stories delicious and rich with exotic descriptions.

Before I set fingers to keyboard for the Sexy Siesta books I knew the series needed a place with its own signature, a place readers would want to escape from the mundane world and enjoy seeing through my character’s eyes.

images

A hidden treasure off the coast of Puerto Vallarta

 

While His by Sunrise takes place in Houston, the heroine, Isabella is from Mexico. Tequila Sunset and Sunrise for Three pushed a little further south and takes us past the border and into the popular beaches of Cabos and Puerto Vallarta. Both known as party towns with a darker side not everyone sees. They say write what you know and after living here for almost twenty years I know Mexico. 😉

Beneath the multifaceted layers of this culture-rich country, there’s a hidden world of danger and adventure. There’s something exciting about crossing the border into a place where time seems to have paused. Where you can ditch the “real world” and become anyone you want while visiting. Its stuff stories are made of and, honestly, serves as a wonderful backdrop for my ruthless drug cartels and a bad-ass group of Recon Marines willing to put their lives on the line day after day.

Add a little tequila, a sunset, and some steamy sex and things are bound to get explosive! 😉

But what about that cover? I’m a total self proclaimed cover girl (I can’t tell you how long I poured over my covers before I was satisfied with their design). Some of you may shake your head at me and tsk, and I totally understand, but want to know a deep dark secret? I never read a book if the cover doesn’t catch my eye first. Harsh, I know, but from the moment I see the cover my mind immediately starts identifying with the characters. First impressions and all that, I suppose. If I’m sold on the package, I move on to the blurb. If both can depict the setting of the story, all the better, right?

Do you get caught up in the artwork like I do? Since I moonlight as a cover artist, maybe my artistic eye has cursed me with the need to see something brilliant before I dive into a new world.

Where do you stand? Do you look for books set in other countries or even cities? Do you look at the cover and decide yay or nay? Let’s talk! I’ll pick one winner for a Kindle copy of Tequila Sunset. Don’t forget to leave your email.

 

I’m sending out my newsletter with new release news and a giveaway! Are you signed up? There’s still time! Subscribe to for your free excerpts, author autographed Sexy Siesta Themed wallpaper, and be included in my monthly subscriber only giveaway!

Connect with me on Facebook or Twitter or visit my website at talinaperkins.com. Now you can also find me on TSU! I love chatting with readers, so don’t be shy!

Until next time…keep it sexy!

tp 200

1WEEKS_hTa

Coming Next from Talina

 

Categories: Books, Characters, Giveaway, Hex My Heart Series, Hexing the Alpha, military romance, paranormal romance, Sunrise for Three, Talina Perkins, Talina Perkins, werewolf romance, writing | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “A Little Tequila, a Sunset, Steamy Sex and Things Can Get Explosive!

  1. Covers do influence me to a degree and may encourage me to go ahead and look at the blurb…but the title also has equal influence in conjunction with the cover. If both of those intrigue me and the blurb sounds like something I would like to read then I will likely read the book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

