A Mexican Christmas + Giveaway

Season’s Greetings to everyone! Today is a pretty busy and exciting day. I kicked off my annual Christmas Book Bash on my own personal author blog (tons of giveaways!!), I wrapped up a sexy shifter short story that has a hero I feel absolutely head of heels for and the family is getting ready for our Christmas cookie baking on the weekend.

Lots going on and to keep up with, but that’s what the holidays are about, right? HA I’ll need a vacation after all the merry making! How many are with me?

All the preparations for the holidays had me thinking about the different family traditions around the world. I’ve lived in Mexico for almost twenty years now and I’ve had the privilege to learn about a completely unique way of celebrating Christmas Mexican style.

When we first arrived here I was only fourteen and completely culture shocked for the first year. Christmas was the first holiday we experienced abroad and I had no idea that here in Mexico Christmas actually starts on December 16th and lasts all the way through February 2nd Known as Candelaria or Candle mass day.

posada-home

Posada

To kick off the season there are nine Posadas (which translates to Inn) that children perform to recreate the journey of Joseph and The Virgin Mary looking for shelter. The children will gather in a procession and call on their neighbors, singing a song for each home based on Mary and Joseph’s hardships. It is customary for the children to be turned away with the news of there being no room for them at the Posada they are calling on. Yet they do not turn away and continue singing until they receive the good news that there is room for them. This is performed over the course of eight nights at different homes and ends on Christmas Eve where the nativity scene is recreated with the baby Jesus placed in the manger and at midnight everyone makes their way to Church service where fireworks are kicked off and everyone starts the celebration of Christmas.

201012153105

Posada

 

On my first Christmas in Mexico I was invited to join in on the Posada processions with others in my community and it was an experience I’ll never forget. We carried candles and I sang in a language I had yet to master. I was off key the whole time and making it all up as I went, but everyone helped me learn as we went.

We also played games and I got my first turn at a Piñata. I learned real fast how to dive and grab my loot before everyone else got it for me. I am sure many of you have had a chance to play this game and if not, it’s a blast! Your little ones would love to take a turn at this game.

piñata

Mexican Piñata

Some traditional food served is the Rosca de Reyes, an oval sweetbread, decorated with candied fruit. In a way it reminds me of our fruit cake. This sweet bread is more a tradition for February 2nd, Candelaria or Candle mass day, where family and friends gather and cut the bread where little white dolls representing the baby Jesus are hidden. The person who finds the doll in their piece of Rosca has to invite everyone present to the following year’s gathering and buy a new dress for the baby Jesus used in the Nativity Scene, and bring tamales, another traditional food made of mashed corn wrapped around meat. And delicious served with Pico de Gallo or homemade hot sauce with tomatoes, jalapeños, cilantro and lemon.

rosca_de_reyes_con_frutas

rosca de reyes

 

admin12

rosca with baby Jesus

 

tumblr_liaja90KSQ1qd45ayo1_1280

pico de gallo

I also found that Christmas trees are not as popular with the older generations. I think this was the biggest culture shock for me. With all the custom trade off with all the tourists, trees have become more and more popular in the new generations, but when I first arrived here and visited friends, they had nativity scenes surrounded by poinsettia flowers which represent the star over Bethlehem that lead the Three Wise Men to baby Jesus instead of trees.

poinsettia-isolated

Poinsettia plants placed throught the city and tons shopping malls, homes, small shops and used in nativity scenes

Though I follow the family traditions my husband and I grew up with, I find the Mexican traditional Christmas a wonderful experience and so steeped with hundreds of years old traditions dating back all the way to the time of the Spaniards.

There is so much more to the culture and the celebrations, but I’d have you hear all day!

How about you? Have you visited another country during the holidays? What did you learn of their traditions? Leave a comment along with your email addy and I’ll pick a winner to receive a Kindle copy of either His by Sunrise or Tequila Sunset, winner’s choice.

Oh, don’t forget to sign up to my newsletter if you haven’t already! It goes out today at 6 p.m. CST with my monthly Gift Card winner AND this edition has a DOUBLE cover reveal. Remember the shifter romance I mentioned above? Be one of the first to see the cover and release date.

I’m also pretty chatty on Facebook and Twitter and please feel free to visit my home on the web. And if you love keeping up releases, flash giveaways, and a whole bunch of other book goodies, grab my FREE App here!

iphone2grab

Grab my FREE App

 

And one final thing, I’d love for you to swing by my author blog and join in my annual Christmas Book Bash giveaway with eleven other romance authors. See you there!

Until next time, have a wonderful and safe holiday. I wish you all a warm and festive Merry Christmas from my heart to yours!

tp 200

feliz-navidad-gif-02

Categories: 69 Shade Of Smut, Books, Contest, Giveaway, Life, Talina Perkins | Tags: , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “A Mexican Christmas + Giveaway

  1. June M.

    I have not spent the holidays outside the US. I want to be surrounded by my regular traditions during the holidays, I guess I am just too set in my ways, LOL
    June
    manning_J2004 at yahoo dot com

    Like

  2. I was in Spain for Easter and really enjoyed seeing the celebrations.

    Like

  3. JeanMP

    My Dad’s parents came from Norway, so I grew up with Norwegian celebrations at Christmas, visited Norway but not at Christmas
    skpetal at hotmail dot com

    Like

    • Hi Jean, I have family members that travel to Europe for the holidays. They love all the traditional foods and the cold. I really miss the cold holiday weather since I live at the beach. After thirteen years living at the beach, it’s still strange to have the A/C on while decorating for Christmas!

      Thanks for stopping by! -Talina

      Like

  4. bn100

    No, I haven’t

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    Like

  5. Nicole Ortiz

    No. I haven’t spent Christmas anywhere but home with family

    Like

  6. I was in Argentina and they did nothing in terms of decorations. There was a religious parade and church services and that was it.

    acm05atjuno.com

    Like

    • It’s the same here for the most part, Anne. The larger cities have more decorations but in the small coastal towns, it’s more traditional. Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  7. jodi marinich

    i have always been home for the holidays.. jmarinich33@aol.com

    Like

  8. I celebrate a Swedish / finnish Christmas =)
    Thanks for the giveaway & Happy Holidays!
    //Linda
    fr_larsson at hotmail dot com

    Like

  9. girlfromwva

    have not been in a foreign country for the holidays. we have German heritage, so some of that is incorporated into our celebration. my boyfriend is Haitian, so since we are having Christmas there this year, we are going to do some things that he grew up doing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

