Book Covers: What elements attract you to a cover.

Once upon a time, book covers weren’t as graphic as they are now. And given the times, people still bought those books despite the lack of a graphic content that is sexually appealing. I for one , don’t mind a cover either way.

If that wasn’t enough, I find it even more upsetting when cover artist through some small presses only slaps on two images and says “Here you go!” I’ve noticed some pretty sloppy work lately, and I’m not impressed. Not to mention authors have to pay for changes when the artist is way off?! I completely disagree. If it looks sloppy and the author notices, believe me, so will a reader. Why should an author have to pay for the changes? I mean…if they have to pay for it, then I’m pretty sure one could find a pre-made or source out their own cover artist to carry out the vision. Anyhow…enough of my rambling and pet peeves.

What I will do is show you some pretty gorgeous covers I absolutely adore:

 

 

 

If these beautiful covers aren’t enough, here are two links to two of my personal favorite cover artists:

Jon Paul

Erin Dameron-Hill

Silver Phoenix Labs

Seductive Designs

And…how about a cover I made for an upcoming release in 2015? 😉

One Night of Pleasure

What elements of book covers help sway you into buying said book? I’d love to hear from you.

 

 

Categories: Books | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

