Welcome 2014

Just ten days into the New Year and it’s already been a wild ride. Sub zero temperatures, muses that won’t be quiet and a story that seems to write itself.

One of my favorite things to do while writing is to play the television or listen to music. There’s something about the background noise that gets the ideas and sentences flowing. Not everyone is wired that way, but when I can’t focus those two things really get me going. Although when I write late at night or early in the  morning, silence is golden. There’s something about listening to the sounds of the house that provide its own brand of inspiration.

With all the snow we’ve had in Michigan lately it’s been rather wonderful to snap photos and describe what I see for my current work in progress. Most of the time my stories are set in the spring, summer or fall, but every now and then the beauty of snow has to be told.

Yes I love the snow, I’m just not too fond of the cold that seems to tag along. So if anyone knows how to give me snow without the frigid temps, please share.

How is your 2014 shaping up?

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Welcome 2014

  1. As you said it, my 2014 is freezing and I’m already way behind on my reading. But for that snow problem….
    Do what I saw on FB of what a mother did for her 3 yrd daughter during the freezing temps this past weekend. Bring in the snow fill up the huge tub or kiddy pool and play. 🙂

    Like

  2. Eh–it’s okay. My story isn’t writing itself–yeah, it’s been freezing. End of 2013 wasn’t so hot…I’m hoping this year will be better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

