Ask Kallypso at today’s monthly contest!

Masters ARE
Hi! Kally here! I’m on a writing/research vacation and realized too late that I needed to get a blog up here by midnight. I’m in San Francisco but my computer is in Carmel. (Obviously this is a non-working night. My mom wants to see Alcatraz, so i am taking her there tomorrow.)
Soooo, I’m turning the blog over to you. Post a comment with your question for Kally and I’ll respond to them over the next couple weeks.
BEFORE YOU ASK, no, there is no release date for Somebody’s Angel. The first part is in the hands of beta readers and I’m working on the revisions for the last half. So we are looking at at least two months before a release. But when I am satisfied it is the quality you expect and deserve, I will send it to you via Amazon, B&N, Apple, Kobo, Smashwords, and All Romance eBooks.
Now, back to the blog. On or after Oct. 15, we will draw a random number and select a winner from those commenters who actually asked questions ONLY. The winner gets an apron or tee from the Kally Swag Store.
So, what would you like to know? Can be about writing, the series, my characters, me, whatever. Go!

 

 

Learn more about this and my other books on my Buy Links page athttp://kallypsomasters.blogspot.com/p/books-by-kallypso-masters.html. Books are available at Amazon, Apple, Kobo, Barnes & Noble, All Romance eBooks, and Smashwords, so be sure to go download Masters at Armsand Nobody’s Angel wherever you shop for books. (Angel is 99 cents at B&N, but you can get Nook versions at All Romance eBooks and Smashwords that are free.)

Each month, I’ll share a scene and give away an e-book from my series. If you already have purchasedNobody’s Hero and Nobody’s Perfect, then we’ll put winners on the list to get book five, Somebody’s Angel, when it becomes available.

If you’ve read the first four books and want to join my secret Facebook group Rescue Me Series Open Discussion, please send a friend request to Karla Montague and she will open the door for you. Must be 18 to join. https://www.facebook.com/karla.montague.1

And if you’d like to find Rescue Me and Kallypso Masters merchandise, such as t-shirts and aprons inspired by a scene in Nobody’s Angel that read: “Master Marc can put me in culinary bondage anytime” OR a beaded evil stick similar to the one used in Nobody’s Perfect, as well as signed paperbacks, check out my Kally Swag Store. With each order, you will receive a bag filled with free swag items, as well, including a 3-inch pin-back button that reads “I’m a Masters Brat,” two purple pens, bookmarks, and trading cards. Kally ships internationally. To browse my shop, go to http://kallypsomasters.com/kally_swag.

If you want to enter to win the t-shirt or apron from Kallypso Masters all you have to do is comment below with your question. BE SURE TO LEAVE YOUR EMAIL so I can contact you if you win. 

 

culinary bondage T SHIRT  APRON with model

Share this:

Categories: Uncategorized | 75 Comments

Post navigation

75 thoughts on “Ask Kallypso at today’s monthly contest!

  1. Angie Griffith

    Omg i so love Kallys work I am curious where she got all her research on bdsm and turning it into great love stories?

    Like

    • Angie Griffith

      Email angel_90249@live.com

      Like

    • Thanks, Angie! The characters came to me with scenes (Adam in the bus station; Damian and Savannah in the hotel; and initially Marc at the dinner where he announces he’s joined the Navy) and I just started asking questions and trying to figure out what was going to happen. Lots of small tidbits come from my own life (my sister and I as teens once were under the protection of two Army guys while stranded in a bus station during an ice storm over Thanksgiving weekend, for instance), but then my imagination takes off and they reveal more so that I just run with it. Yes, characters do talk to me, crazy as it seems to non-writers. (I believe a reader accused me of being insane recently because I said that, but it’s true for most writers. If the characters don’t talk to us, then you won’t hear them.)

      For research, I used books and online sources in the beginning. Didn’t always get it right. While working on book three, a number of subs and a Dom came forward to help me get it right. I invited the Dom who helped with the technical aspects of the Shibari scene in Hero and the slut and clothespin scenes in Perfect to join me at a convention in Tennessee next weekend. He and his sub will be demonstrating some of their toys and techniques at a special reception/workshop Friday for those attending the Indie Romance Convention in Lebanon, TN. Hope some of you can be there!

      Thanks for kicking this off with the first question, Angie!

      Kally

      Like

  2. What is your favorite memory from growing up in KY??

    Like

  3. DebraG

    Do you get to meet your cover models? I bet that would be fun. Also do you get to visit places for research.
    debby236 at gm ail dot com

    Like

    • DebraG, I have only met the male model on the cover of Nobody’s Hero. He is Brooks with Hot Damn Stock and such a sweetie. But he has long curly hair. I told him he was a 50-year-old Marine on that cover, so his head and hair had to go. lol

      I’ve met other models for potential covers. I really like Len Gunn and hope I’ll be able to work something out with him for possibly my Western Historical with Johnny Montague. But usually I get photos from stock places and then have my cover artist manipulate them so that they won’t look exactly the same in case someone else uses the same pic. The Perfect cover had the guy in jeans, with a tat on his arm and there was no whip. She added the leathers and whip. (The chains were there already, tho!) She also darkened his skin to be more like Damian’s.

      As for visiting places I write about, well, in the beginning I couldn’t afford to. Now I do. I’ve spent a lot of time in Colorado and California researching future books. But it was amazing to go to the places I wrote about in earlier books and see them for the first time. Actually, I took a van-load of readers with me to explore Southern California Rescue Me sights this past May. They said the places looked just like they imagined, so I guess I did a good job working with photos and locals. But seeing them for the first time was as if I walked into the scene. Gave me chills–and a few tears sometimes.

      Last summer in Colorado I found where Cassie’s cabin is located. Now that was really eerie. I just walked around the bend that I described in Nobody’s Hero when Karla took her home and BAM. Almost identical to the way I described it, without having seen it even in photos yet. Sometimes I think my characters give me a glimpse of their worlds, not just their words. 🙂

      Kally

      Like

  4. Do you have a specific writing hours like only during the day/evening or do you write whenever you have the chance?

    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

    Like

    • I’m afraid I NEED to, Susan, but right now, I write when inspired. I will probably work at getting more disciplined like so many other authors, because I need to write so many books and sometimes it’s not that I’m not inspired, but my brain is just too cluttered with other things. Family will always come first, but with the help of my assistants and others, I’m hoping to turn over a lot of the business and marketing concerns to others to deal with so I can just write and engage with readers.

      Kally

      Like

  5. mary

    Love your books and wait for each release. I recommend your books with each conversation I have with readers.

    Like

  6. Does Angela get chained to Marcs’ stove. I think I would actually enjoy that. I have enjoyed reading alot of the really steamy scenes with my husband.

    Like

  7. Did your Mom enjoy Alcatraz?

    Like

    • She did! I even got a picture of her escaping from solitary confinement. It was on her bucket list. She also enjoyed Angel Island (mostly the views of the bay), so that was a nice surprise, too. Thanks for asking! Now she wants to see giant redwoods. I’m not going to get to Eureka or Yosemite, but I think the one I posted on my Facebook timeline this morning should be impressive enough for anyone!

      Kally

      Like

  8. Kallypso , When is the next book coming out? I have read each of the others in The Master’s at Arms series. I found your books by accident( it was great). I love each of the guys and can’t wait to see what comes next.

    Like

  9. Armenia

    In your research, have you ever attended a munch in your local “kinky” community? Have you witnessed a play party? Oops, sorry that’s two questions. 🙂

    armiefox@yahoo.com

    Like

    • Oh, this is a good add-on to the question above about research because I didn’t address this. Thanks, Armenia! I had three books published before I ever got up close and personal with the kink community in real life. In April 2012, I loaded up an SUV limo with 19 author/reviewer/reader fans and we went to a kink club in Chicago during Romantic Times Booklovers Convention. It was open house, so no play was going on, but I learned a lot about the setup of a private club there.

      In February, during the Naughty Sleepover in San Antonio, I went to a dungeon in a Dom’s house, along with about 40 attendees of the con. (It’s called the Wicked Weekend for next year, but I think all the spots for going to the dungeon have been filled already.) That involved play with a sadist and masochist that was fascinating and eye-opening. Also some non-Shibari ropework.

      In May, Cherise Sinclair and I attended the Northwest Leather Celebration in San Jose and there were lots of workshops where I learned more about the Master/slave dynamic and got to go to play parties two nights where I could observe all kinds of things from wax play (with a pregnant sub!), needle play (Cherise told me when it was safe to look–I can’t watch needles being inserted, but it’s fascinating to see the designs afterward), all types of impact and suspension play. Lots of fodder for future books!

      I can go to clubs and watch, but can’t touch. Love my hubby too much and he wouldn’t be comfortable with me doing that. (Cherise’s hubby gives her the same hard limit. LOL) But it’s fun to watch and learn!

      Kally

      Like

  10. Claudia kepner

    What is your secret/trick for concentrating while you are writing? Love your books!
    ckepner@yahoo.com

    Like

    • Good question, Claudia! I used to use headphones, because I tended to write in the busiest parts of the house (dining room or living room). After a while, my brain was able to tune out distractions. Once my daughter came home and asked if hubby was there. I said he was still at church practicing piano. Then she found him in the bedroom reading. Apparently he had talked to me when he came home and I’d even said something that made him think I was listening, but I had no recollection of it. lol

      Now I am slowly taking over my son’s old bedroom where I find it much easier to write and focus. Sometimes I play music to help get me in the mood for a scene. There seems to be a CD that resonated with me during the writing of each book–or at least a playlist of my own making. Whenever I hear Andrea Bocelli’s Romanza, I go immediately to Nobody’s Angel. For Nobody’s Perfect, it was Sarah McLachlan’s Fumbling Towards Ecstasy. For the other two, it was a mix of music. But that’s a good way to regain focus.

      But if I’m writing, I need music without words. I often listen to Pandora’s Classical Music for Studying station for that purpose.

      Kally

      Like

  11. Romance Reader Enthusiast

    When doing research for your books, do you ever hit a “stone wall”? Did you ever have a character that you hated the way they turned out?

    Have a great weekend!
    Lynn
    lareynolds0316@gmail.com

    Like

    • If I hit a wall, it’s usually because I’m trying to force the characters in a direction they don’t want to take. Sometimes I just need to give them time to face whatever it is they are avoiding. Sometimes I am just not listening and am trying to take over the telling of their story. Usually just taking a nap, walk, shower, or leaving the computer for a while will remove the block and I can come back and work again having figured out what went wrong. Sometimes I just need to move to a different part of the story and come back to that later. It might be that I need info from a later scene in order to lay groundwork earlier and until I’ve written the later scene, I just can’t visualize what that groundwork might be.

      I don’t plot my stories, so usually I have to write it out before I can see it. That includes with backstory, which is why Masters at Arms is told in real time. I wanted to experience those things, but couldn’t do that by just jotting down a list of events. When trying to figure out what happened to Savannah–her escape from her father’s house, for instance–I had to write those scenes. Some of them were so telling that I decided to include them, even though it meant LONG passages of italics, but readers needed to know what happened. Some people, I think, thought that was stuff that had been written in Masters at Arms, but for the most part, it was all new material and I think readers could feel her emotions as she went through those things–the escape and finding refuge at the church. I tried not to give it the feeling of being backstory, even tho it was. 🙂

      Kally

      Like

    • Oh, missed part 2 of the question. My biggest disappointment in the series is that I wrote Nobody’s Angel without really ever understanding what Marc had hidden so deep even he didn’t know it was there. Of course, I’m writing a saga in chronological order and there were events there that needed to happen in order to bring all these people together, but when I realized I just wasn’t going to figure him out (and Karla and Adam were well on their way to starting their own story!), I just left Angelina and Marc at happy for now and figured I’d solve the problem later as a subplot in someone else’s book. Well, while writing Nobody’s Perfect, the issue came to the forefront like a missile and I just couldn’t do justice to Savannah and Damian’s story if I was constantly going back and forth to Marc and Angelina, so about a month before I published Perfect, I pulled out nearly 30,000 words of the subplot and decided they needed their space to get them to Happily Ever After like Adam and Damian.

      My writing is a journey for both reader and me, tho. Life isn’t always presented to us in a neat little bow with everything getting tied up at the end. I prefer realistic stories and that’s certainly shown here with Marc & Angelina. They were only together about a week in Nobody’s Angel, not enough time to get to HEA (altho it CAN happen, it is very rare). Now they’ve been together more than six months and things are going to challenge them as to whether they will stay together. But it IS a Romance. And they don’t get a third chance to get it right. (At least I don’t think they will!) 🙂

      Kally

      Like

  12. Mary Preston

    Hi,

    going into a series do you know how many books there will be or does it grow exponentially?

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    Like

    • It started out with four (but I also had the option of expanding if other characters talked to me). By the time I was writing book 2, it became 5. Now I envision at least 15 or 20. It is exponential! lol

      Like

  13. Carol S

    What criteria did you use when putting together your reading team and editor(s)?
    carolspringston@comcast.net

    Like

    • When looking for my first editor, my criteria was that she not be a fellow writer (those are for critique partners, IMHO) and that she work full-time as an editor. I could only afford one at that time and chose someone I 1) could afford and 2) knew met my other criteria. Jeri Smith is that editor.

      In the months before I published, I first learned about beta readers when someone asked to be my beta reader. So, in the beginning, the betas were whoever volunteered. (There were about 5 or 6 for that first book.)

      Since then, I’ve added a couple more beta readers. Sometimes life intrudes on my regulars, so having alternates is good. But when I add anyone now, it’s because they have an expertise I need–military knowledge, BDSM lifestyle experience/knowledge, etc. But there are far more volunteers than I can accommodate, so I wait until someone describes some knowledge base I need for the book at hand. But, as you can imagine, my beta readers tend to continue with me from book to book.

      There have been editors who have volunteered to edit and, believing that no book can be edited by a single person (editors have expertises!), I accepted their help. One went on to create an incredible timeline to help keep everything straight as she edited, and now I hire her to do my timeline and she has since done a Series Bible for me. Another was great at line edits and is now paid to line edit for me. Still others have just shown an amazing knack for connecting to my books and characters and finding things that the rest of us miss or even help me brainstorm future books, so they are now on my paid editorial team. There are six on the team at this time and I think I have covered all the bases of editing needed. All members of my editorial team work for other clients, as well, in that capacity.

      Hope that helps! I have writer friends who send beta readers a form to fill out, answering 20 questions or whatever, but for me, I just want them to read the book, leave comments where they had an emotional response–good or bad–and to notice things out of whack that bother them (in a bad way–unintended to bother them), so that I can get a feel for how readers might respond to the book as they read.

      Thanks for asking!

      Kally

      Like

  14. Maimeo's Angels

    Any chance you could attend the Tennessee Author event in July 2014?

    Like

    • I can’t add any more conference/convention appearances to my 2014 schedule, because I want to get two books out next year. But depending on where in Tennessee, it might be within driving distance for us to meet. Or if you want to have a private tour of a horse farm in Lexington, KY, let me know if that’s part of your Kentucky plans. 🙂

      Like

      • Maimeo's Angels

        Kally that sounds awesome. I will contact you once all plans are finalised. Do hope we can arrange something. Thank you for being you💖

        Like

  15. Becki Wyer

    What, originally, got you interested in BDSM? How did you learn about it?
    rmwyer @ shaw dot ca

    Like

    • I read “The Story of O” at 16, so I guess I’ve always had an interest in it. But that is a very dark, non-consensual story–unlike what I write. Reading Cherise Sinclair’s “Club Shadowlands” in April 2009 opened my eyes to the possibilities of erotic ROMANCE with BDSM themes. I wrote Nobody’s Angel the next month. Well, the first version of it–nothing like what you read in the versions published between September 2011 and December 2012, when I stopped revising it. lol

      I think what resonates with me is the surrendering of control on the sub’s part, and the sense of responsibility and protectiveness of the Doms in accepting such a monumental gift. The psychology of the exchange is what fascinates me the most, which is why my books tend to deal more with that than BDSM for titillation as do erotica books.

      Kally

      Like

  16. Breanne w

    Do your characters constantly talk to you or are they quite when you are not in writing mode? By the way I love your books!!!!!
    Breanneweaver21@gmail.com

    Like

    • They talk to me more when in writing mode, but when I least expect it, one or more will pop into my thoughts to tell me something I need to know. It’s those times that drive me crazy because if I don’t have something to write the thought down on–or a voice recorder for it–then it will be lost, probably forever. I have to always be ready for them. One of their favorite places (especially Master Adam’s!) is the shower. I need to get some of those washable crayons so I can jot down the key words and remember to make a note of it for later. But he has done that from the day I published Masters at Arms in August 2011. I hadn’t showered in days, and as soon as I uploaded it to Smashwords, I went up to shower. All lathered up, and he says, “You buried the hook on p. 7.” Rinse, grab a towel, run downstairs, and, sure enough, I had. So I moved “Joni, you were my anchor. I’m lost without you.” to the first line in Masters at Arms. I ALWAYS listen to Master Adam!

      But I’ve also had visits from Luke in the shower, so I have a feeling he’s going to enjoy ropes and water, just like Adam. Only he’ll use them in different ways.

      Kally

      Like

  17. Claire

    Hi Kally
    Do you have help or a subject expert from the military to make sure your books are true to life? If so how did that come about? Thanks.
    ppcbowman@gmail.com

    Like

    • For the first three books, my military experts were in the Army, Navy, and Air Force branches. I had NO Marine to advise me. Big mistake. A few months after Nobody’s Hero was published, I got a fan letter from Top Griz, a retired Marine saying how much he enjoyed my books and offering his services as a subject expert on the Corps and weaponry in future books. So, I wrote back asking how I had done on the first three books. “Well, now that you ask…” and he proceeded to tell me about some major and minor issues with getting my facts straight on the Corps. I asked if he’d go through Masters at Arms and correct it, and he did. I wrote about the experience in the Books N Kisses blog in May 2012, just before I reissued NEW VERSIONS of the first three books, with corrections made. Things like calling Sergeant Miller Sergeant and not Sarge; making sure I didn’t change an RPG into a hand granade; and having Adam use the F word and not say friggin’. While they don’t seem huge, things like that make a huge difference to a Marine and I wanted my books to resonate with all of them.

      This past May, I had the privilege of having a tour of Camp Pendleton with a wounded warrior who had read my books. He lost his leg above the knee in Iraq the same year Damian was injured. I was nervous to have him read it because, once again, I had gone on instinct and online web sources without a real person to advise me. So, I asked him how I did. He said he liked how I kept things vague. For instance, I’d say someone picked up a rifle, but didn’t say which kind. He said he could fill in the detail of which rifle, but if I’d named it and then had it do something it couldn’t, it would have jarred him out of the book. He also told me that, now that Damian’s got his head out of his ass about his amputation and is no longer going to try to “pass” as “normal” (whatever that is), I need to go wild with him. I look forward to having MSgt. Jack as my subject expert for future Damian scenes.

      But that’s what I tend to do–keep the details to a minimum. I don’t describe settings or scenes or even characters in great detail. I just let readers fill in the blanks using their imagination. I get in less trouble that way–but that’s also why readers feel as if they are in the scene with the characters. Their minds are filling in gaps with details they’re familiar with and they can picture themselves right there. Magic!

      However, I try to talk with experts now who can give me “inside” info that might only be known to someone with that expertise, but helps it to ring true for readers, whether they know that info or not. And I always run my Marine Corps info by Top Griz, MSgt. Jack, or Susan, the wife of a retired USMC Lt. Colonel (especially on things like weddings!) to make sure I don’t get it wrong!

      Kally

      Like

  18. J Jeffery

    Do you plan on writing another series after Rescue Me is finished? And if so will it be military BDSM related as well?

    jdjeffery1127@gmail.com

    Like

    • I’m not sure if it will result in a series, but I have plans to put out a book next year that will NOT be a Rescue Me book. It will border on non-consensual BDSM (using coercion), but is a book I wrote before Nobody’s Angel that I wanted to fix up and release. I had one of my editors read it over to give me an honest assessment of whether it could be turned around in under two months work and she thinks it can, so I’ll start on it as soon as I finish Somebody’s Angel. It will be a Romantic Suspense.

      But I’ll also still put out Luke’s book next year, so if things take longer than anticipated with that one, I’ll shelve it and get to work on Luke’s, because I know more readers are waiting for that than for me to branch out into other areas.

      Kally

      Like

  19. Erica

    How did your first character come to you and witch one was it?
    ericarbryan@gmail.com

    Like

    • In this series, it was Marc. I wrote Nobody’s Angel in May 2009 and don’t think Adam or Damian were even in the picture yet. I was a very different book from what you have read today. While Marc and Luke were there, I don’t feel they were “real” yet. They were very much cardboard characters and the book was intended to have more sex than romance. I finished it and like so many books before it, set it aside. Work got crazy and two years later, I quite my crazymaker job and had to find a way to find an income without a job. So I pulled out Angel, thinking my last novel would probably be the easiest to turn around quickly. Ha! But I was told I need to have a “marketing piece” that will attract readers and show them what I can offer them as a writer, so I started writing Masters at Arms, in which I tried to explain what made Marc who he was. In the process, I discovered Adam and Damian’s stories and showed how they all came together at Pendleton and beyond.

      It wasn’t until I delved into their pasts that I felt a connection to Marc or any of the characters. Marc remained the most closed off of the three, but eventually I was able to get a glimpse at some inner pain he kept hidden. But I could never get at what was there. As I said in an earlier answer, it might have been better to wait, especially if I wanted my characters to remain confined inside a single novel and have their romance get to Happily Ever After and a neat bow at the end. Luckily, I can’t write that way. So, Nobody’s Angel doesn’t really get at Marc’s issues either, but shows the way their relationship began. Since I write in chronological order, I had to lay that foundation, but when Adam and Karla decided they’d waited long enough for their Romance, I had to end Angel rather abruptly and move on. Marc’s inner pain wasn’t revealed until I was writing Nobody’s Perfect, so in keeping with my telling the saga in chronological order, once I decided to pull him out of the subplot and make another book, I will have to take readers back to New Year’s Eve (from Perfect) where all hell broke lose in Marc’s safe, controlled world, and will show what readers didn’t see that was happening with Marc and Angelina. But I’ll also carry the saga forward at least a month beyond Nobody’s Perfect, so you’ll go into new territory, as well. Hopefully, the mystery that is Marc will be fully revealed–although I don’t think any of my characters have been fully revealed to you or me yet. They will continue to evolve as the saga continues.

      Kally

      Like

  20. Love your work Kally! What do you think will be the biggest writing challenge for you, now that Marc has finally opened up?

    Like

    • Writing! LOL. Actually planting my butt in the chair and getting the stories down seems to be my biggest challenge this year. I see too many pretty shinies that I have to explore. So, learning discipline and setting aside DAILY writing time is going to be my biggest challenge.

      I know you mean which CHARACTER I see as a challenge, though. Honestly, I never know a character until I’ve gotten inside their heads–and sometimes even then I don’t really know them (like Marc!). I’ve had a glimpse at Cassie and I don’t think she’s going to be hard to relate to or get to open up. Luke’s so charming and non-threatening that I know he’ll break through her defenses much more quickly than Savannah’s or Adam’s defenses were breached.

      One real unknown for me is Grant. I have yet to get inside her head and if she isn’t ready to let me in after I finish Luke’s book, I plan to just continue to give her space and move on to Patrick’s story. (He and his lady have been bombarding me, so I know they are ready to go.) If I do that, then it means the historical with Kate Gannon and Johnny Montague (Patrick and Adam’s great-great-grandparents) will have to follow, which will give Grant another couple years to decide she’s ready to talk. At that point, even if she isn’t ready for me, I’d probably push her, because I think she needs to let go of some of that tight control she has on herself. Problem is that her guy is going to show up in Nobody’s Dream and I don’t know what to do with him if she isn’t ready to open up.

      But I go where the characters lead me, even though I know readers have favorites they want to read about first. So far, the characters’ voices are drowning out the readers’ voices, tho. 🙂

      Kally

      Like

  21. Hi Kally!!! Who was the hardest person to tell what types of books you write? Mother, grown children, etc? Do they all read your books?
    Having fun reading all your working vacation posts. Thanks so much for sharing with us 🙂
    ~June
    manning_J2004 at yahoo dot com

    Like

    • Hmmm. Good question! I have no problem really telling everyone I know what I write. My doctor (he wanted to know why my health improved so much after I quit my crazymaker job, so I told him and handed him my card–and I have to tell him he is the inspiration for Dr. McKenzie in the book LOL!), neighbors, sisters, mother, grown kids. They all know. I probably go into less detail with strangers and usually just say I write Romance novels. IF they say, “Like Fifty Shades,” then I might go into detail. If they say “Like Danielle Steele,” I’ll just say, no, mine have happier endings. 🙂 With those types, I might say themes I write about–Marines, PTSD, incest survival, etc. My hubby prefers I not tell people at his church who I write as or what I write, altho they know. (I just wasn’t the one to tell them. We live in a very small town, tho. )

      My 82-year-old mom and two sisters have read my books. Another couple sisters have bought them, but don’t read them. (Mom likes Adam–and doesn’t understand why women would want men to beat on them. LOL She prefers reading a cozy mystery, but when a co-worker told her she couldn’t read my books, she told me to get her a Kindle. She’s pretty cool.) One of the sisters who reads them also pimps me out everywhere around Nashville or wherever she happens to be. I think my cards are at the checkout counter in the liquor store where she works. lol

      My grown kids (a son and a daughter) have no interest in reading them–and that’s fine with me! But my new DIL pimps me out without having read the books and is a big help to me in packaging things for my store and for conventions.

      It took my hubby a while to be supportive publicly, but now he hands out my cards to his friends at his high-school reunion or to people we meet on the train, while renting bikes, or wherever the subject of what I write comes up. That’s fun to see. But he doesn’t like reading fiction of any kind, and even my tame Romances of the past freaked him out because he said it made him feel like he was inside someone’s head reading his diary. Um, yes, dear. That’s what good fiction does. 🙂

      Kally

      Like

  22. Kimmie Kim

    Hey Kally!!! You are such a Sweetie!! If you woke up on a deserted island, what author friend would you be with and what 2 things would you have to have survive until being rescued?

    Like

    • Oh, you all are making these harder and harder! Hmmm…I’d want to be stranded with Cherise Sinclair so I would be able to keep reading her series–all three of them (Shadowlands, Dark Haven, and Wild Hunt Legacy). Of course, if she doesn’t have a solar-powered computer, she will probably just have to tell me the stories rather than let me read them.

      As for what I would need to survive, well, definitely some kind of electronic device with wi-fi. (But then that wouldn’t be much of a deserted island!) But, since this is my fantasy, it would be possible. Solar powered and the signal may be weak, but there. A Kindle Fire, my Mac laptop, a new iPad (I don’t have one of those), or something where I can communicate and read would be great.

      The second item is harder. I’d say Diet Coke with Lime. I’m kind of addicted. 🙂

      Kally

      Like

  23. Denise Ellis

    Hi Kally 🙂 I have to say, I LOVE your books and thank you for taking time to answer our questions!

    My question is this: What is the hardest aspect of writing? I have to write essays for class every other week, I hate starting because it is the hardest for me.

    twistedgizmo2000@yahoo.com

    Like

    • Oh, I hate writing essays–especially when they tell you to write the outline first. I don’t plot, so for me, if I had to write a synopsis (they used to require those if you submitted to a publisher–another good reason for me to be self-published!), I’d never get anywhere. I have to write when the spirit moves me and go where the characters take me. No plotting or much planning.

      The hardest thing for me is finding the discipline to just write every day. I used to do that, but have been letting too many things distract me from that. So, I’m working on regaining that so that I can get back on track with publishing my books and getting these stories down for all of us to enjoy.

      Good luck with your papers, Denise! From a fiction-writing standpoint, I don’t write in linear fashion, so I start anywhere I want–beginning, middle, or ending–and then jump around. I used to do that in college, too. I wrote the intro and conclusion after I wrote the middle because I had no clue what I wanted to touch on in the essay. Maybe that will work for you–unless you have to do a dreaded outline first.

      Kally

      Like

      • Denise Ellis

        I will have to try that!!! I don’t have to write an outline, just the essays 😦 But starting by just writing and then doing the intro and conclusion might just help 🙂 Thanks for the tip and for answering 🙂

        Like

  24. Judith Hill

    As a writer of graduate level research papers, I understand the need for good, solid, and immutable evidence before making statements. Do the Masters give you information which needs verification when they speak, or do you already have research which they tell you how to use?

    hill.judith606(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  25. Fortunately in fiction not much is immutable. I figure as long as what happens in my books COULD have happened to one person, then it’s fair game. If it’s really obscure or rare, it might get readers saying “this is unbelievable,” as I sometimes see in reviews, but I know that I’ve talked with people or read accounts of these things having happened so I just ignore those criticisms.

    I usually write the scene from the emotional level and then put in questions to ask an expert. For instance, in Somebody’s Angel, there is an ice-climbing scene that I wrote. I got an e-mail from a reader who ice climbs in Colorado and she answered a lot of my initial questions, but then I sent it to her to read and respond to, correcting mistakes, adding detail that might make it easier for readers to envision, answering new questions that arose in the writing. Unlike my betas who will read the entire book, I often have experts like this who will read just certain scenes. I also have a clinical psychologist who reads the entire book and helps me get things right, because I know a lot of readers feel a connection to these characters and may want to try to heal or change due to something they read here. While I am not writing self-help books, I also believe in the “do no harm” motto, so I like to make it at least close to being realistic and within the realm of possibilities. Sometimes, though, I’ll have Savannah say that there’s no evidence something might work, but there have been reports of individual’s successes. I do that in Somebody’s Angel, in fact. And I always warn people NOT to try anything at home without professional or expert supervision or training. Despite the warnings in the Author’s Notes, people still try things without taking reasonable precautions. Those are the ones I worry about most, because more than likely they are going to get hurt. But I can’t control how people will respond to something they read or see and want to try.

    As for research, I do have files and files of info on things I know I want to write about. Sometimes I go back and make sure I get it all the way it should be. Other times, I rely on my experts to catch things I might have gotten wrong or remembered incorrectly. It takes a village to get a book out by Kallypso Masters!

    Like

  26. Breanne Etten

    Kally, I love your books:) I know that you don’t live the BDSM lifestyle and you do a lot of research for your books so my question is how did you get into writing and especially into the BDSM portion? Is BDSM your favorite thing to write about?

    Like

    • I’ve written Romance since high school (the mid 70s), but always loved reading “bodice rippers,” which included BDSM elements. (Johanna Lindsey always had someone tied/chained to a bed, it seemed. And her harem fantasy book was amazing.) When New York went all PC and decided women shouldn’t want to read about capture fantasies, Romance got pretty dull. So I quit reading, but still continued to try and learn to write. I also read hardcore, non-Romance BDSM stories over the years, but didn’t enjoy those. It wasn’t until March 2009 that I learned about Erotic Romance. In April 2009, I read Cherise Sinclair’s Club Shadowlands and saw that fantasy could still be a part of Romance. I wrote Nobody’s Angel in May 2009 as a fantasy menage BDSM, but work got crazy and I stopped writing until I quit that job in April 2011. (I continued to read Cherise during the interim, tho.)

      Nobody’s Angel needed a LOT of work (and maybe still does–it remains my least well written, due to pacing problems and some problems with character motivations, although the revision put out in December 2012 was better than the original), but in May 2011 I wrote Masters at Arms and realized that fantasy BDSM wasn’t my niche or forte. That’s where I met Adam and Damian. I also understood Marc better (altho he still had secrets buried deep inside that didn’t become clear until I was writing Nobody’s Perfect). When I decided to go with a more realistic approach, the stories just poured out of me. Voila!

      Recently I pulled out the novella that I wrote before reading Cherise. It was one with coercion, dubious consent, and I asked one of my editors to tell me if there was any hope that it could be published with additional content and revisions, and she said YES. I had hoped to find a book that wasn’t BDSM so that readers who are afraid of this genre would give me a try, but I think my heart belongs to the BDSM genre. I do have a Romantic Suspense that is not BDSM (and was originally geared toward Silhouette Special Edition or Intimate Moments category Romances) that may come out some day, but I have so many Rescue Me stories waiting to be told (and so many readers waiting for them), I don’t want to get sidetracked too much until I at least get Luke’s book out and maybe even Grant’s or Patrick’s (whoever speaks to me first).

      Hope this answers your questions!

      Kally

      Like

  27. Donna

    Kally, I just want to say I love, love your books! I know we have all been patiently waiting for your next book to come out. I was wondering if this usual for books to take this long to get written and published and are we really being impatient? LOL!

    Like

    • Donna, I’m taking longer than usual for an INDIE author (indie as in self-published), but it’s not unusual for a New York-published book to be written at least a year before it’s released. (In New York, the book sits on a shelf a VERY long time–6-12 months or more–before release. They don’t care about readers wanting their fix.)

      But I assure you my books will be released as soon as final edits are finished and I am satisfied with the book and know it will meet your standards and expectations. This year, I just misjudged how much writing I could get do while also going to conventions to meet readers (I *love* to meet readers!), going on vacations to do research and unwind, and taking time to love on my grandson. I am learning as I go and making adjustments so that won’t happen next year. (I have no more conventions until the end of May and all my conventions will be in the May-August months, rather than February to October like this year. Prep time and recovery time take a lot of energy out of me, so this way, I’ll just go at that insane pace a few months, then get back to writing full-time.

      Of course, taking time to do research OR to love on my grandson won’t be cut back on. 🙂

      I thank you ALL for your amazing patience. At Authors After Dark 2014, I was asked to choose a virtue or a sin. I went with PATIENCE, because of Damian’s amazing patience, AND that of my readers! Not sure how we’ll convey patience in a table decoration, but we’ll work on it!

      Kally

      Like

  28. "southerngrace"

    Dearest Kally,
    I am really enjoying your books. I also live in Kentucky and I was wondering if there are clubs near that you visited for your BDSM research either in Kentucky or Tennessee?
    Thanks,
    “southerngrace”

    Like

    • Hello, fellow Kentuckian, southerngrace!

      I’ve never been to a club in Kentucky or Tennessee. The places I’ve visited have all been during conventions–in Chicago, San Jose (play parties at a leather celebration, actually), and San Antonio. I’ve heard Nashville has a really good one (invitation only). And there is one in Louisville, but I don’t know anyone there.

      A lot of my research is done via e-mail and conversations with those in the lifestyle. Most have come to me after reading my earlier books. I also have on my editorial and beta reader teams a number of subs in the lifestyle who help me get my facts/protocols straight (unless one of my characters is just screwing up and being human lol).

      Not sure if I’ll get involved in the local communities because I’m able to gain most of what I need this way and I can’t play out of respect for my hubby. So I’ll continue to do it this way. 🙂

      Kally

      Like

  29. mary

    What really started the idea for this whole series?

    Like

    • Well, my main motivation was probably money. I’d just quit my job and needed to make a living. I had written the first in what I planned as a Romantic Suspense series back in 2007/2008 over Christmas break. That series would have NOT been BDSM Romance (I hadn’t discovered that yet), but did have a Navy Corpsman turned physician and the buddies he served with included a bad-boy biker and other Marines. I won’t say that I cannibalized that book for this one, but some of the research I’d done helped me with this one. (I still may pull out that book and finish it someday, too. It’s very different. No BDSM, abused woman on the run with her daughter, stranded in Montana, rescued by the good doc. Yeah, there ARE similarities–but it was more a Silhouette Intimate Moments type of book.)

      I had written Nobody’s Angel in May 2009 and then left it on the shelf, as I mentioned earlier in another answer. Because it was the last thing I’d written and I wanted to pursue erotic romance as my genre, I pulled it out and decided to go with it. I don’t think I really breathed life into the series until I found Adam sitting in that bus station trying to find some reason to go on without Joni. As with lots of authors, though, the stories just present themselves to us and we run with them (or not). I was fortunate that these characters chose me to tell their stories. 🙂

      Like

  30. Ursa

    Hi Kally, love the books!

    Who out of your characters was your least favorite and why?

    ladyursa_ms@yahoo.com

    Like

    • If you mean ALL characters, Ursa, then Savannah’s father and Lyle, of course, for the obvious reasons. Lyle is even more vile in some ways, because his motivations were greed and power–no matter what he had to do or who he had to hurt to get them. I’m not 100% sure Savannah’s father isn’t certifiably insane. How else can you explain someone doing what he did to her? But, NO, he’s NOT going to get away with that as an excuse. He will go to prison and suffer horribly there, hopefully even worse than what the Masters have done to him already.)

      Now, if you’re asking about my heroes and heroines in the series, Marc’s was my least favorite–UNTIL I figured out he wasn’t holding out on me to be stubborn. He truly had no clue why he was so closed off and why he did what he did. So, that’s changing now that I understand him better. But for the first three books, he was a real challenge because I always felt that something was missing and worried that my readers would think he wasn’t as well-developed as the other characters. I hope I can help him figure it all out and move forward in SOMEBODY’S ANGEL! You all are just gonna want to wrap him up in a big bear hug when you read it!

      Kally

      Like

  31. Samantha

    Kally, I just LOVE your books! I don’t care how long it takes to get Marc to us but I’ll wait for him, Your books are very much worth the wait. I see that a few of the questions I was going to ask have already been posted. Thank you for being so informative and open when answering our questions. I love when one of my favorite authors shares with her fans. My question is what authors or books are on your favorites list? Also, any chance of you coming to Florida?

    Like

    • Oh, I’m glad you still had some questions! And thanks for your patience and enthusiasm!

      I don’t have lots of time to read fiction anymore. If I read, it’s usually non-fiction for research. But Cherise Sinclair was my very first BDSM Romance author and I love her books, whether they are BDSM or paranormal. Most recently, I also just discovered Kennedy Layne who is writing a BDSM series with Marines. What’s not to love about that? I’m reading the first one and enjoying it a lot, when I can steal a few moments to read, that is.

      And, yes, I’ll be in Orlando next June (I think) for BookBash. Come and see me! I think it will be a two-day event this time. I missed the first one but have assured Maryse I will be at the next one! It will be in the middle of a tour of GA-FL-AL-TN planned for late June and early July–but until they set a date, I can’t say that for sure. I’ll adjust accordingly to the BookBash schedule once they announce it.

      Kally

      Like

  32. Cory

    Kally, How do you keep all the characters in your books straight?

    Like

    • By seeing them as real people and not just characters in a book. I do have a timeline/bible person on my editorial team, though, and she helps me keep dates and minutiae straight (right down to the negotiations to date in each couple’s BDSM journey!). So I sometimes refer to her spreadsheets when I’m not sure about something. For instance, with parts of Somebody’s Angel paralleling what happened in Nobody’s Perfect, I need to know for sure which dates Angelina was in Denver babysitting and what not.

      But for the big picture, these people are very real. They talk to me, come to me in dreams, share little tidbits with me about their stories all day long. So, just as you can keep your friends and family members straight, I’m able to do the same with the newest members of MY friends and family–the Masters and their ladies. 🙂

      Like

  33. Tammy

    So Kally, you’ve stated before that you and your husband go off for weekends with your “toy bag”. My question to you… Are you the Dome, a sub or switch?

    Like

    • we mostly just roleplay. I think at heart we’re both subs (altho he’d never admit to such a thing–and I’ll never get him to trust me enough to let me tie him up LOL), so I’d say we will Top each other as needed, but we really aren’t into a BDSM power exchange dynamic. It’s just fun and games in the bedroom with us.

      Like

  34. We love your books but what books do you love?

    meingee@yahoo.com

    Like

  35. In addition to the fiction books and authors I mentioned in my response to Samantha above, I love research books on a number of topics. Nonfiction, diaries, memoirs, how-tos–lots of types of books that I read to help me provide added layers of detail to my stories and bring the people in my stories to life for you. I sometimes glean tidbits from the BDSM romances I read, but tend to prefer not to include those things in my books because I want mine to be original and unique.

    Like

  36. All caught up on questions and answers to date, I think! Just a couple more days to post a question and then we’ll pick a winner on or after Oct. 15!

    Kally

    Like

Leave a Reply

