Historical research and giveaway!

Okay, I’ll admit it. I’ve never been big into history, didn’t like it in high school, never been into museums and that kind of thing. But I’ve always loved reading historical novels and once I got published I knew I wanted to write one.

I put it off for a long time, not wanting to dive into the massive research that I knew I would have to do and thought I would hate. Well it turns out I actually loved doing the research, loved reading the books from people who experienced the gold rush in Ketchikan, Alaska, loved going through pictures taken at the time. It turns out I actually do like studying history, just not in the way it was presented to me in school. Getting lost in another time is an amazing experience, and through my newest book, Gold Lust you can do the same without the research part.

Oh, and to celebrate I’m giving away a copy of Gold Lust to anyone who leaves a comment. I’ll stop back tomorrow and pick the winner.

 photo tn_zpse6a92d10.jpg

 

The 1901 gold rush brings people and excitement to Alaska, and recently widowed Emma Smith is in the middle of it all, ready to make her fortune. She’s definitely not interested in love or lust, but that all changes when she rescues her neighbor James Armstrong from an icy creek and she’s forced to lie naked with him to save his life. She’d been fighting her attraction to the burly mountain man for a long time, but with him so close, touching, skin against skin, she can’t deny it any longer. And soon sex with James is an addiction, something to warm every Alaskan night. Emma is sure a traditional man like James couldn’t accept an independent woman like her permanently. But as the dangers of Alaska keep bringing them together, the reasons to stay apart begin to fade.

Find Gold Lust at Ellora’s Cave, Amazon, All Romance, and Barnes and Noble

 

Sky Robinson
~Add a little sexy to your day~

 

Categories: 69 Shade Of Smut, Contest, Free Book, New Release | Tags: , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Historical research and giveaway!

  1. Zee

    I love reading historical novels. This genre occupies 2/3 of my bookshelf. And I look forward to reading this one.
    And congratulations for this book. 🙂

    Like

  2. DebraG

    I love historical novels and I love doing research. It is an amazing thing.

    Like

  3. I love doing research! It seems the only historical books I care to read right now have to have sex in them. lol Well, unless it is a Biography or memoir of someone that interests me at the time. kbinmichATyahooDOTcom

    Like

  4. History was my favorite subject in school. Book sounds great thankyoiu

    Like

  5. Kristy

    I never liked history in school either, but I always enjoy a good historical romance. The heroine saving the hero sounds interesting too.

    Like

  6. Jessica Billings

    I really liked history in high school, I especially loved my humanities and history classes in college. I liked being able to pick what time I wanted to learn about, made the class more enjoyable. I am not a fan of research, but then again the research that I did was for things in college that I wasn’t interested in. I absolutely love reading historical romances, the regency period is one of my favorites. I also like reading about the highlanders and the American history romances. This sounds like a great book, it’s definitely going on my TBR list! 🙂

    Like

  7. Diana Merritt

    I have always read historicals. Love reading about England and Scotland.

    Like

  8. I LOVED(and still love) History. Its always been fascinating to me how different things were. Indians were my favorite by far, Inca, Mayan… Damn I love history!

    Like

  9. I always look forward to reading new authors. This book set in Alaska during the gold Rush sounds like a historical romance I’d enjoy!

    Like

  10. Sounds like a great book cant wait to read

    Like

  11. Marcy Meyer

    I love historical romances! Thanks for the giveaway chance!

    Like

  12. I love historical novels and I love doing research. It is an amazing thing.

    Like

  13. Love finding out about a new part of the country and time p period. Alaska is a different world from Texas. Add in a hot romance…..what could be better?

    Like

  14. Joanne B

    I love reading historical romance books and I love to go to visit museums, but I could have done without history in school. It was usually just so long and boring.
    Thanks for the giveaway.

    Like

  15. JackieW

    I love to read stories about the Gold Rush era. This one sounds like one I would enjoy reading.

    Like

  16. What a great period of time to write in! I’ve always loved history too and historical novels are among my favorites. This sounds like a good one!

    Like

  17. Karen Hillis

    I don’t know if you meant to say that you would give away “a copy of Gold Lust to anyone who leaves a comment” because that means you intend to give away potentially lots of copies.  Since you followed that with “I’ll…pick the winner,” I think you really meant only one person will get a free copy, in spite of what you said.   I can’t help it–I’m a natural proofreader (and a history lover).   Karen  

    ________________________________

    Like

  18. I would really love to read this book. It sounds so very good. Thanks for the giveaway. Please enter me.

    Like

  19. Ashley

    Thanks for giveaway. Books sounds fun. Love this era.

    Like

  20. lisagk

    Alaska is always an interesting setting, during the gold rush would be a tremendous story. lisagk(at)yahoo

    Like

  21. Armenia

    I never much enjoyed history during school, either. Again, it was the lack of enthusiasm my teachers displayed at teaching the subject. But I love history now that I get all that background info through the novels I read. Imagine if our teachers threw in a bit of salacious info *that* would certainly have grabbed our attention.

    armiefox@yahoo.com

    Like

  22. Terry Howell

    Sounds intriging. Thanks for a chance to win!

    Like

  23. Sky Robinson

    Random.org has chosen commenter number 3. Congrats to Kimberly!

    Like

  24. Janet Rodman

    This looks like an interesting story. Alaska is on my bucket list to visit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

