Soap Operas, Smut, and Sisterhood!

You know what my favorite part of writing is? Well, other than the hot bi guys who share and the whole falling in love and living happily ever after part. I love, love, love getting to write a cast of characters. You might be wondering what I mean by a ‘cast of characters.’ Well, I am referring to the supporting people in the story. It’s kind of like a soap opera (cheesy comparison, I know)—there’s one couple (in my case, grouping) you focus on, but there are a whole host of characters surrounding them. And you can’t help but eat these people all up—even though, in the scheme of things, they’re not really the reason you’re watching the show in the first place.

Now I know most consider these people to be ‘secondary characters.’ But for me, they’re not. These people are essential—to the story and the other characters. See, we don’t live in a world where it is all about us and our significant others. We have families and friends. And while we often want to strangle them (or at least, I do), we love them. We want them to be a part of our lives. So how could I write a book where there were no relationships outside the ménage? I couldn’t. And frankly, I wouldn’t.

That being said, I don’t write non-sexual relationships because I have to. No, I find great pleasure in writing relationships that I would love to have myself. For example, in my Sweet Serenity series, there are three women who have the kind of friendship I would have given anything to have growing up. Jaycee, Katie-Anne, and Shannon have been friends through thick and thin for as long as they can remember. And nothing and no one could tear them apart. To me, that’s a true gift. In The Doms of Kinky, Kansas, there is a social circle that I find fascinating. Now, I haven’t had time to reveal the inner complexities of this group’s relationship to everyone. Yet. After all, I have only written one book in that series. But still, these people have a deep, rich history. It’s not like they just magically showed up in Kinky and Poof! they’re friends. No, these people are with the people they care about. They came to town to be with these people, not just to move to a place where BDSM and ménage relationships run rampant. I find that level of commitment and unity in a friendship to be a true treasure.

As you can imagine, my next release Their Luscious Dream (Love in Luscious, KS #2) is no different. I have a huge cast of characters. Probably the biggest group yet. But it isn’t about the size. It’s about the selfless, unconditional, generous love they share with each other—all of them. They don’t say that Love knows no boundaries in Luscious for nothing. Everyone (yes, everyone) cares about everyone else. It doesn’t matter if its the sexy beasts who run The Luscious Lady (yeah, you know who I’m talking about…Sam, Brett, and Ethan), the hippie lady living in a tent in the park, the incense-loving man who drives the vintage VW bus as a cab, or the full-grown flower children that run the Paisley House. They all have an emotional connection. Even the boho trio who own and operate Nature’s Garden get in on the love. (No, not that kind of love, you naughty, naughty man or wicked, wicked woman!)

Of course, like in Serenity, I have a soft spot for three women in particular in Luscious. Now don’t get me wrong. These three are nothing like Jaycee, Katie-Anne, and Shannon. They aren’t supposed to be. No, these three are sisters. But they’re not just any sisters. They’re the sisters I would have wanted had I not been an only child. They are smart and sassy, smart-mouthed and perverted. They pick and prod at each other. They joke and play pranks—like in this scene from Their Luscious Dream:

“Excuse me, Tate,” Haven said, her voice sounding as smooth as melted butter and as sweet as candy. “Can I have this?” When her best friend nodded, she grabbed Harper’s made-from-scratch muffin off his plate and threw it at Athena’s head.

Athena bent sideways, effectively dodging the projectile whole grain bread, then laughed her ass off. Harper and Haven joined in, and half of the damned café clapped as though they were at the opera rather than in a café with deviant workers.

And they’re completely, totally, utterly honest with each other—brutally so. They’ve been known to call each other on their bullshit a lot. Like here in Their Luscious Dream:

“Peckerface,” Athena muttered, using Haven’s favorite insult when someone pissed her off.

“Hey, that’s my word,” Haven grumbled as she stole a banana from Tate’s plate. Her best friend didn’t even bat an eyelash at her theft. “And you can’t call Jagger that. He’s my brother, and I love him.”

Harper snorted. “Didn’t you call him a peckerfaced fucknugget last week?”

“He called me a name first,” Haven defended before biting into the banana in her hand.

“Yeah, he called you Haven Moon Kelley,” Harper countered before snagging Haven’s banana and taking a bite of her own.

Grinning, Haven waved her hand dismissively. “Don’t get technical, sis. Haven Moon Kelley is a name.”

Harper threw her hands up in a dramatic display of exasperation. “It’s your name!”

Haven attempted to take back her banana. But Harper dodged her.

For all their posturing, bickering, and blustering, these three would go to the end of the world for each other. They have each others’ back. Like in this teeny-tiny snippet (if you would call it that) from Their Luscious Dream:

 A hush rippled through the room. All eyes turned on Athena, who paled visibly. “I, uh, don’t know how to say this.”

“Say what?” Haven bent at the waist and propped her elbows on the stainless steel countertop. “You killed someone, and you need us to hide the body. If so, we’re going to need some supplies.” She hummed. “Wonder if Maverick keeps a wood chipper at The Catch All.”

In all honesty, I can’t help but feel a twinge of jealousy for their sisterhood. I wish I had that kind of relationship. But since I wasn’t blessed with sisters, I have found that living vicariously through these three has been the most beautiful (and hilarious) non-bedroom, non-sexual-love experience of my writing life—to date. I just hope that the people who read this book will feel a kinship with these three, too. And if not them, someone else. After all, I’m a character driven writer. And as a character writer, I want everyone to love the characters as much as I do. Okay, that might not be possible because I’m a bit…attached to them. LOL. But if one person out there cares for the characters even a tenth as much as I do, then I’ve done my job right.

So now that I’ve teased you, scroll down a little bit, and you’ll get a bigger and better glimpse into the world of Athena, Harper, and Haven!

Until next time…

Love and cherries,

-Mia

p.s. I’m running a contest in honor of the release of Their Luscious Dream on Monday, August 12th! For more information, follow this link: a Rafflecopter giveaway. By the way, one of the ways to earn an entry through Rafflecopter is to leave a comment here! 🙂

 

*** Now let’s get to the good part…Their Luscious Dream! ***

Their Luscious Dream (Love in Luscious, KS 2) photo TheirLusciousDream_Full_zps4b8f8d80.jpg

PRE-ORDER NOW!

BLURB

Athena Xanthopoulos is on a mission. She’s moved to Luscious, Kansas to reconnect with the parents she doesn’t remember and meet the siblings she’d only dreamed of having. But she didn’t count on finding men like Sam Carrington, Ethan Bartlett, and Brett Monroe.

Sam, Ethan, and Brett love each other, and they’re committed to their marriage. Yet still, they dream of a family that includes a wife and children. Only they believe their dream is just that—a dream.

Then Athena walks in.

Now the men who’d felt their dream was out of reach see babies in the mysterious blonde’s eyes. And the woman who’s lived life as an outsider yearns to belong.

But Athena’s conservative childhood tells her what she craves is wrong. Can the men convince her sharing isn’t wrong but oh-so-deliciously right? Or will she hold onto what she knows, dashing the men’s dreams and dooming herself to a lifetime without the men she’s grown to love?

NOTE: This book is not stand-alone. To find out how the dream began for Sam, Brett, and Ethan check out Luscious Beginnings (MMM).

Special 69 Shades of Smut Excerpt

Athena whirled around. “You’re like a dog with a bone.”

“What’s with all this animal talk?” Harper asked as she returned from delivering food to one of the tables. “I hear one of you yapping about cats in heat and the other blabbering about dogs with bones. I don’t get it.”

“You don’t have to get it.” Haven tugged on her sister’s recently dyed hair. “I never get your crazy hair, so we’re even.” Letting go of the rainbow-colored strands, she winked. “I have to get back to work anyway. I would really hate to burn my buns.”

“I’ll burn your buns.” Athena’s lips tipped up into a smile. “With a hot baking sheet to the butt.”

Like Athena had hoped, her sarcasm didn’t fall on deaf ears.

“Excuse me, Tate,” Haven said, her voice sounding as smooth as melted butter and as sweet as candy. “Can I have this?” When her best friend nodded, she grabbed Harper’s made-from-scratch muffin off his plate and threw it at Athena’s head.

Athena bent sideways, effectively dodging the projectile whole grain bread, then laughed her ass off. Harper and Haven joined in, and half of the damned café clapped as though they were at the opera rather than in a café with deviant workers.

Only one person didn’t seem amused in any way, shape, or form—her brother, Jagger Blue Star Kelley. He was scowling at them from his counter on the opposite side of the serving area. As usual, Mr. Stick Up His Ass had his eyes trained on her. Not that that was surprising. He didn’t hide his distaste for her or her antics. “Get to work,” he barked.

Athena knew he was talking to her, not Harper or Haven. And he made it known to everyone in the dining room when he turned to the two sisters he’d grown up with and said in a much softer voice, “You, too.”

Athena didn’t flinch at his obvious snub. She didn’t even acknowledge him. She spun on her heel and headed to the sink where she washed her hands with water that was painfully hot. When she was done, she wiped her reddened hands and got back to work.

A short time later, Harper and Haven returned to her side. Both of them patted on her back, the strikes gentle and surprisingly soothing, and she sighed.

“Ignore Jagger. He’s such a douchenozzle sometimes,” Haven said.

Harper was far more defensive of their older brother. “He just doesn’t know you. Once he does, he’ll warm up to you. He’ll love you. Like we do.”

Guilt speared Athena in the chest. She should tell them who she was. She should—right here, right now, this very second. She even opened her mouth, but nothing came out.

Harper touched her chin then helped her shut her mouth. “It’s okay. We know. You don’t like him any more than he likes you.”

Wasn’t that the truth? She couldn’t stand Jagger. He treated her like crap. Every day, he tried to fire her for one reason or another. And every night at closing, he bitched at her for something she’d done. She was doing this wrong. Or she was doing that wrong. No matter what, she was in the wrong.

“Peckerface,” Athena muttered, using Haven’s favorite insult when someone pissed her off.

“Hey, that’s my word,” Haven grumbled as she stole a banana from Tate’s plate. Her best friend didn’t even bat an eyelash at her theft. “And you can’t call Jagger that. He’s my brother, and I love him.”

Harper snorted. “Didn’t you call him a peckerfaced fucknugget last week?”

“He called me a name first,” Haven defended before biting into the banana in her hand.

“Yeah, he called you Haven Moon Kelley,” Harper countered before snagging Haven’s banana and taking a bite of her own.

Grinning, Haven waved her hand dismissively. “Don’t get technical, sis. Haven Moon Kelley is a name.”

Harper threw her hands up in a dramatic display of exasperation. “It’s your name!”

 PRE-ORDER NOW!

Categories: 69 Shade Of Smut, Books, Characters, New Release, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Soap Operas, Smut, and Sisterhood!

  1. Nothing like friends who you can be silly with and who understand you perfectly when you are acting that way. Looks like a fun read.

    Like

  2. Cherie Clark

    I love all of your characters and enjoy falling for the secondary characters as much as with the main characters. I always feel like I know the towns so well by just getting to know your characters.

    I can not wait … not too long now right

    Like

  3. I don’t have any sisters but if I did I would hope that we would have had a relationship like this.

    Like

  4. Andrea I

    I haven’t read the first book in the series, but this one looks good. I don’t have any relationship with friends or my sister like that.

    Like

  5. I absolutely loved Haven and Harper. Athena fits in with them so well.

    Like

  6. Bridget

    Wow, I wanna read this book!

    Like

  7. Lisa Carlton

    I love the all of the characters in you books they all play a special role in bringing the bigger picture together….and I love following each and everyyone of them and as I do I hopoe they get their own book lol….I don’t have any sisters but if I did I would love to have the same relationship these 3 have

    Like

Leave a Reply

