Somebody’s Lover Free!

 photo SomebodysLover2_850.jpgOkay, promo first! Somebody’s Lover, Jackson Brothers Book 1 is free right now! You can find it on all the major retailers. Kindle Kindle UK Nook Kobo iBookstore iBookstore AU iBookstore UK All Romance Smashwords Coffee Time Sony. And for a limited time, you can get Somebody’s Ex and Somebody’s Wife discounted at Coffee Time.

Today I wanted to talk about books whose main characters are not likable people, yet the story is so engrossing you can’t put it down. As writers, we’re taught in our craft classes to give our characters “rooting power,” meaning we instill in them reason for the reader to root for them to win. So many times I hear people say they didn’t like a book because they just didn’t like any of those characters. We’re supposed to make our characters likable. But despite everything we’re taught, there are some characters we love to hate, they fascinate us, we can’t tear our eyes away from the page. I’m sure many of you have read Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. This book is a masterpiece, and Ms. Flynn is a masterful writer. And it’s was this book that got me hooked on characters I loved to hate.

So let me tell you about another book I found fascinating despite the fact that there were no likable characters, I mean none. It is Jo Nesbø’s Headhunters. He’s a Norwegian author primarily known for his Harry Hole series. I started reading his books because of my Norwegian relatives. And one of the very fun things for me in Headhunters is that Horten is mentioned. This is the little town our family is from. It’s where my husband’s parents grew up. So I admit there was that added bonus. However, above and beyond that, the story had loads of twists and turns and the protagonist, while totally narcissistic and unlikable, was quite funny. I read the reviews on Amazon, and some people hated the book because this guy was so narcissistic. And lots of people thought the plot was contrived and impossible. Hmm, yeah, maybe, but it was still a fun read. I liked it so much, I’m going to watch the movie on streaming tonight. It’s in Norwegian so I’ll have to read subtitles (while my husband needs no translation), but it stars Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, who plays Jaime Lannister in Game of Thrones. He’s totally hot, in my opinion, and well worth the watch.

To hear about another book with characters I loved to hate, drop by My Blog this week. Hope to see you there!

Categories: 69 Shade Of Smut, Books, Characters, Free Book | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Somebody’s Lover Free!

  1. The important thing for me is to connect with the characters. It doesn’t have to be a positive connection; it just has to be a connection. If I don’t care about the characters, it’s hard to give the book much of a rating.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the free read! I do prefer to establish a positive connection…it’s why I read romances, I want the HEA!

    Like

Leave a Reply

