Safe Sex and Magical Condoms

If you’ve read any of my books, you might have noticed that I rarely leave out the mention of birth control, particularly prior to the first love scene. There are two reasons for this. One, I think it adds a necessary realism. Yeah, I know I’m creating a fantasy with my books, but when it comes to most of my characters, safe sex is something they do take into consideration before tripping the mattress fantastic. So it makes sense for them to address it. My second reason for including it is because I feel a certain responsibility when it comes to my writing. Yes, my books are meant for adult readers, but I’m fully aware that there are probably plenty of readers under the age of eighteen who read my books too. Hey, I remember sneaking my dog-eared copy of Bertrice Small’s Skye O’Malley into my tenth grade history class and trying to pass it off as research. Side note: If you’re reading this, Mrs. Hadley, that really was for research. Really.

When it comes down to it, regardless of the age of my reader, I’d like to think my characters are someone you can relate to. As women–and for those men out there reading this too–we’ve all been faced with choices when it comes to sex. Why wouldn’t these same issues pop up in our fictional worlds? Even if that world happens to be on a planet light years away from Earth, or populated with hunky werewolves. But I’m curious what y’all think. Does it matter to you if safe sex is or isn’t used by your favorite characters? Does it ruin the fantasy or draw you out of the story in any way? Inquiring minds want to know!

And because I’d be remiss in not pimping my upcoming release a bit, here’s a little teaser scene from Lover Enraptured featuring a magical condom. Because who says safe sex can’t be fun AND sexy. 😉

Pre order from Samhain Amazon B&N

Exclusive excerpt:

If this was all that she could have of Jerrick, would it be enough?

He leaned over her, the personification of a lifetime of longing wrapped up in an achingly beautiful package. And she had her answer.

No force on Aurion would give her the strength to walk away from this moment. Away from him. Her heart, her body, they’d always belonged to him. There was no fighting her destiny. She cupped his face, stroking the beloved planes of his cheekbones with reverence.

He sipped at her lips, his thighs coaxing hers wider. “I want to feel you wet and clasping tight around me. I promise I’ll weave the sheath before I come.”

It took a moment to grasp his meaning. “You can make a magical condom?” The notion almost made her giggle.

He grinned. “One of the perks of being a Maddoc.”

His shaft furrowed along her slit, splendidly fat and rigid, and she sighed in pleasure. Well hello there, second big perk of being a Maddoc fae.

www.jodiredford.com

Categories: 69 Shade Of Smut, Books, Characters, New Release | Tags: , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Safe Sex and Magical Condoms

  1. Kimberly Morgan

    Condoms are used for more than preventing pregnancy, of course, and I’d hope that on Aurion, there are no sexually transmitted diseases…

    Like

    • jodiredford

      Hi Kimberly! Yes, absolutely. The absence of sexually transmitted diseases is one benefit in writing certain books (Sci-Fi and some paranormals). But in the books where it is a possible issue, having the characters discuss their sexual history–if they haven’t already–is always vital, IMO. And 9 times out of 10, I’ll still have the characters use a condom before initiating sex.

      Like

  2. Condoms are a reality in our world (or SHOULD be). I EXPECT that characters will also be concerned with their partner’s, and their own, health and use condoms. Some of the hottest sex scenes I’ve read have featured the condom application as an integral part of foreplay. Until the characters have committed themselves to a monogamous relationship, condoms should always be used.

    Like

    • jodiredford

      Hi Michelle! I agree 100%. Using the condom as part of the foreplay not only adds to the realism, it can be super sexy! I think it also opens that door of communication and trust between the characters, which is so important in the real world and fiction.

      Like

      • Exactly. So many people use romance/erotica to “spice” up their lives, it’s a great opportunity to sneak a little safe sex education, in there.

        Like

  3. That excerpt just put the biggest smile on my face!!! lol (always good to mention safe sex as long as it doesn’t take up too much time!!!) I haven’t read any of your books so I am looking forward to discovering them 🙂

    Like

  4. wrongwaymichelle

    I hope that discussion of birth control, body image, etc Eric books will encourage all of us to be more open in our real lives. I appreciate responsible behavior in your characters along with the great story telling. BY T : this book sounds awesome!

    Like

  5. You can do: consecrate hosting, shared out hosting and some other linguistic communication can
    create a shopping handcart or a daub. web hosting A gang of creare pagine
    dinamiche inserendo codice Java nelle pagine Hypertext markup language.

    Like

Leave a Reply

