Danica Remembered To Blog!

Hey y’all, I remembered to blog on my day this month. Yay!

Let’s get down to the nitty-gritty, shall we? Readers and writers have things that really disgusts them when it comes to books. It’s what makes this business ever-changing and being a reader both awesome and annoying. I loved reading the blog this month because I found myself nodding at several points. First person POV is one I don’t particularly enjoy, but there are some exceptions. The ew factor in sex scenes is one that’s purely subjective and while I see the point, it all depends on the reader and their experiences.

My personal peeves? I’m more likely to toss a book away if a main character dies, or proves too stupid to live, or is too weak to stand on their own. I’m more into the characterization and the story than what genre or POV they’re written in. If the story is good (as in it appeals to you), you’ll barely even notice which POV it’s in. I’ve had that happen to me a few times. I became so engrossed in the character that I didn’t care it was first person. The same for some sex scenes. If it fits the characters and what they’d do, then I’m okay with how they express themselves in bed. I don’t think “Where’s the condom?” or “Is he tasting his cum on her lips?”. I think “They’re so sexy together!”

Characterization is my biggest issue with books. How can you love a story if you hate the hero or the heroine? I try my best not to write characters like that, but then again, it’s all subjective, isn’t it? A heroine I think is hilarious might be too abrasive to someone else. A hero I see as dark and brooding can seem serial killerish to another reader. I’ve heard ‘you can’t please everyone’ and it’s the complete truth.

Which means I know some people are going to despise my newest release, Dean’s List. Some of my loyal readers will probably want to burn it because it’s nothing like my usual work. It’s not a paranormal and it isn’t a regular romance. It’s a contemporary EC for Men. And it has nothing to do with love and everything to do with fantasies. But I like the story, like my hero and his many heroines. And I suppose deep down, that’s all that matters.

 photo deanslist_msr_zpsc0b3ab15.jpg

A quick romp in his home office with his family upstairs. A roadside quickie in his car after picking up a stranded motorist. A dominating woman who uses and abuses him in the most delicious of ways. These are just a few things that make Dean McKnight the luckiest man alive. Top it off with a successful career, a wonderful family and a hot, adventurous wife, and Dean couldn’t be happier.

With the option of having a different beauty every night of the week, Dean’s list is packed with women who fulfill all his darkest fantasies. He just never knows which one will show up next.

An EC for Men contemporary erotica story from Ellora’s Cave 

Ellora’s Cave

Categories: Books | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

