A Sneak Peek!

One of my favorite parts of writing is when I get to revisit characters that I’ve come to love in past books. Right now I’m working on edits for Lover Enraptured, the second installment of my Thieves of Aurion series. As I’ve been working on this book, I’ve been reminded all over again why Jerrick and Avily have been sitting in the back of my mind for the past few years, screaming to have their story told. I love characters who have smoking hot chemistry that they’re trying to resist. It makes their eventual downfall that much sweeter. 😉 Although this book doesn’t come out until August, I thought I’d give y’all a sneak peek with a little unedited excerpt and the ridiculously hot cover.

The knob turned and the next instant Jerrick pushed inside the cramped space of the bathroom. Avily caught his reflection in the looking glass. His stunned, sucker punched expression was almost worth donning the skimpiest dress known to womankind.

Gah…”

She frowned at him, ninety-nine percent certain that wasn’t so much a word he’d produced as the sound of him swallowing his tongue. “It’s okay, you can say it. I look ridiculous.”

He snapped his mouth shut and cleared his throat before attempting to speak again. “Not what I was going to say at all.”

“No? Then how would you phrase it? Stupid? Silly? Skanky? I’m sure I can come up with a few more S words if you give me a moment.”

“Sexy.”

She chuffed a humorless laugh. “Good one.” She would have tossed out another flippant comment but the heat in his eyes dried it to dust in her mouth.

He continued looking at her, really looking at her, in a way he’d never done before. As if he liked what he saw. No, craved what he saw. To the point that he wanted to sink his teeth straight into her for a leisurely meal.

Her turn to gulp. “Jer?”

The timid, uncertain quake in her voice seemed to jog him from his hypnotic fascination with her scantily clothed body. The mask of cool blandness he’d perfected over the years slipped back in place. “The dress will work out fine.”

“I don’t know. I can’t even tie it up properly.”

“Here, I’ll get it.”

Before she could protest or swat him away, he stepped behind her and gripped the laces. “Tell me if I’m doing it too tight.”

“I want it snug so I don’t fall out of the damn thing.”

“Yeah, that’d be a pity.”

She snapped her gaze to the looking glass, but his lowered profile revealed nothing regarding that crack. She opened her mouth to demand an explanation, and squeaked like she’d been goosed when he tugged on the laces without adequate warning.

Now I know how a sausage feels. Attempting to retain enough oxygen in her lungs to breathe, she sucked in her tummy. Any air trapped there apparently migrated up into her bosom because it plumped like it’d been inflated with helium. Jerrick’s motions stalled for a second, his scrutiny glued to her cleavage. Catching her suspicious squint in the looking glass, he returned his attention to the ties. His knuckles brushed her skin with each pass of the leather through the metal grommets. As he ventured closer to the top of the dress, the lessening slack of the laces meant more chances for his fingers to linger on her goose pebbled flesh. By the time he pulled the final lace ends together her knees were trembling.

Jerrick’s warm hands slid upward and rested on either side of her neck. “You’re shaking.”

“In case you didn’t notice, this dress offers less coverage that a washcloth. I’m cold.”

“No, I definitely noticed.”

She assumed he was referring to the inadequacies of her apparel, until she noticed he was staring fixedly at her nipples. The combination of her arousal and the chill in the room had stiffened the little buggers to hard points behind the crimson leather. He met her eyes again and the sultriness brewing in his irises knocked the remaining air from her diaphragm.

“Tell me touch you.” Gravel rode rough shod over his voice. “Same as you did before.”

“You’ve been touching me for the past five minutes.” Something the slickened state of her panties was all too happy to remind her of.

“You know that isn’t how you want me to touch you. How I’m dying to touch you.” His fingertips trailed over her collarbone, flirted with the upper curve of her breast.

Her eyes fluttering shut, she gave in to a wispy exhale. “Don’t you dare die before you grope me properly.”

“Good girl.” His whiskered jaw caressed the side of her face just as his hand coasted lower and cupped her breast. “That sounds suspiciously like something a dominatrix would say to her sub. Although I suspect she’d back up the reprimand with a stinging bite from her flogger.”

“Trust me, if I’d had one handy, I would have gladly cracked you across the ass.”

His smoky laugh brought new meaning to the term oral sex. Because gods knew, listening to it could trigger an orgasm. He nibbled her earlobe, each tiny nip provoking a pulsing throb through her clit. “You never know. I might enjoy it.”

Categories: Books, Characters, Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “A Sneak Peek!

  1. Sheri

    Sounds like a good read. Its the same book cover as Hot Ticket from Olivia Cunning tho 🙂

    Like

    • jodiredford

      Yep. That’s the problem with stock images. They’re bound to show up on multiple covers. 😉

      Like

  2. Whew! Hot stuff. 😉
    I just added it to my must buy list.

    Like

  3. NICE!

    Like

  4. Reagan

    August is too far away 😦

    Like

  5. natashamoore

    Hot cover, Jodi! Love it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

