She was my first? Who was yours?

Cassie RyanDo you remember the first erotic romance you ever read? I do. I had no idea these books were out there. Yup, I was totally clueless. Oh sure, Iโ€™d read romances for years, but erotic romance? Actually, it sounded too good to be true ๐Ÿ™‚

I had joined a romance writers’ group and had been a member for a few months when one of the published authors who had been very nice to me, brought her books for a signing. I wanted to support her because she had been so free with information about publishers and agents and the writing life. So I bought her book, CEREMONY OF SEDUCTION, by ReesCassie Ryan. I got it home and started reading. OMG! This was great! A world where sex was a given and citizens enjoyed it wherever they were. Of course, then I had to buy all of Cassie Ryan’s books as fast as Kensington could put them out.ย  Next was Allyson James, another author in our group, whoโ€™s steamy Shareem with Elloraโ€™s Cave had me hooked and hooked deep. Thankfully, she had a complete series already written for me to devour, men created to serve women on three different levels. I started with Rees and didn’t look back.

masque_msr finalWhat was it about the combination of erotic explicit sex and the trials and tribulations of romance? I had to investigate further by reading more and more ๐Ÿ™‚ Then I just had to start writing an erotic romance, and then two, and of course, I couldn’t stop. Now I have my own erotic romance being published by Ellora’s Cave. I wonder if MASQUE by Lexi Post will be someone else’s first. I hope that someone, a virgin reader of erotic romance, will follow Rena and Synn through the Pleasure Rooms and fall in lust and love with them and this genre. Who knows?

So who was your first erotic romance author? Do you remember?

Lexi

http://www.lexipostbooks.com

Categories: 69 Shade Of Smut, Guest Blogger | Tags: , , | 34 Comments

Post navigation

34 thoughts on “She was my first? Who was yours?

  1. Sheri

    Lora Leigh Guilty Pleasures was my first! Loved it. I now own everything she has ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Eva P.

    I’ve only been read erotic romances for about 2 years now, I had no idea they existed O_o but am so glad I found them…as for my first I’m pretty sure it was a Jaid Black book, The Empresses New Clothes…

    Like

  3. Laurie P

    Wow, I’ve been reading them for a while now. So I think it was either Jaid Black or Emmy Holly.

    Like

  4. My first truly erotic book was one of Cherise Sinclair’s, and I’m still a fan. Lexi, Masque looks great. I’ll have to go check it out further.

    Like

    • Yum, what a great author to start with. I will be getting my release date this week for MASQUE. I can’t wait. Thanks for taking a look ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. After I discovered Dara Joy at Wal-Mart (shocking me when I read them in the ’90’s) I was given a couple volumes of Secrets from Red Sage Publishing. It was through those anthologies I discovered Angela Knight. Somehow I made it from Angela Knight to Emma Holly and onto Ellora’s Cave.

    tiana

    Like

  6. patricia crews

    my first erotica was ANNE RICE’S BEAUTY SERIES ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. Sherri

    I don’t know if it qualifies but “Fanny Hill” by John Cleland

    Like

    • I don’t think we are going to be stuffy about qualifications here ๐Ÿ™‚ As long as it led you down the road to erotic romance I say it works!

      Like

  8. Mel K.

    Kate Douglas

    Like

  9. Randi Alexander

    I think it was either Kathleen Woodiwiss or Judith McNaught. I still love their books.

    Like

  10. Sarah McCarty was my first and Lorelei James was my second. I own everything they’ve both written and my library is soooo full.

    Like

  11. I’m feeling kike I’m dating myself, but when I was a teenager, I picked up a book my Mom had been reading, it was a Harold Robbins novel. My first BDSM novel was Secret Submission by Diana Hunter. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  12. mawmom

    Well I did read Anne Rice’s Sleeping Beauty series as a young teen but had no idea what half of what was being written about was, as an adult I have to say it was Cherise Sinclair that was my intro to the world of erotic romance.

    Like

  13. Angie M

    My first erotic romance book was A Mutual Favor by Ann Jacobs. I too had not known about these books and I was hooked!

    Like

  14. My first erotic author was Heather Rainier and her Divine Creek series and the first book i read was “Divine Grace”. I was hooked from the first chapter. I have since bought every book she has written as well as any other books I have been able to find! I love reading them all ๐Ÿ™‚ xxxx

    Like

  15. sanns526

    I’ve read romance for years and years but didn’t start reading erotic until just a few years ago. Of course it was Lora Leigh and I believe it was Dangerous Pleasures. So a double whammy – erotica and menage. I’m sure my mouth was hanging open the whole time!

    Like

  16. Crystal

    My first was Be With Me by Maya Banks. I absolutely loved it and went out and bought everything else I could find of hers! Next Came Annmarie McKenna’s Blackmailed. I still go back and re-read those often, along with everything else I can get my hands on!

    Like

  17. The key to that Crystal is everything else you can get your hands on. See you are hooked too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  18. Shannon Bereza

    I have read a few books here and there over the years, and just recently I was led to a book by Lily Harlem. I loved it and loved her writing so I would have to say she was my first since I don’t remember the names of the other authors I read in this genre. I only found this website back in December and I have found several new authors and books and am happy to say I love having my 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and…………

    Like

    • I agree, Shannon. Having many more to gain “experience” in this genre is definitely a good thing. After all, they say we should learn something new everyday ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

