My fave Xmas specials…and a giveaway!

Hi 69ers!

Yes, we’re talking holidays, and for me at this time of year, that means Christmas. As a child, as silly and uneducational as it might sound, a big part of celebrating the holiday was catching certain Xmas specials on TV. And who among us doesn’t get all nostalgic when we hear that Charlie Brown Xmas music? Right?

Well, I watched a couple in the 70’s that still hold a special spot in my heart. Some are hard to find now. First among these is “The Christmas Messenger (1975)” starring Richard Chamberlain. In this one, Richard played a myterious man who comes to Victorian London to spread the message of Xmas to a young man. At the end, Richard turns out to be an angel. I loved this show. It made me bawl!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jbkAOfUXMoU

The Christmas Messenger Cartoon Picture

 

Another one I enjoyed, and that invariably made me cry into my egg nog, was “The Happy Prince (1974)”. This was a cartoon starring Christopher Plummer. It is based on an Oscar Wilde children’s story, and gets me every time. Read the book if you get the chance. The story of love and friendship between a golden statue and a swallow is about the most beautiful thing I’ve ever read.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0071596/

The happy prince

Did you watch any Xmas specials that no longer run on TV? Do you miss them? I know I’d love to see these ones again, or find a copy somewhere.

To help celebrate the season today, I’m doing a giveaway of one of my backlist. Simply comment and tell me which holiday specials meant the most to you!

I’ll pick a winner by end of day today.

Happy holidays!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 30 Comments

Post navigation

30 thoughts on “My fave Xmas specials…and a giveaway!

  1. I haven’t seen the Happy Prince mentioned in ages… That was always a good one. I’m a sucker for It’s a Wonderful Life – and where it used to run all the time – now it’s hard to catch it. And the OLD version of Christmas Carol *1939 I think- there was an actor in it that my grandmother crushed on … When my daughter was little she caught a couple of showings of Christmas on Sesame Street – which she loved so much I ended up buying it for her – especially since they took it off the air. Now – if I miss Charlie Brown Christmas with the anoemic tree and Linus’ soliloquy I’m sad. That was under fire this year – but it aired 2 nights in a row.

    Like

    • Rosanna Leo

      Hi Gaele! Oh, I love those ones too! I’m a big Alistair Sim girl mysel, rather than the 1939 one, but what a story! And Charlie is a must have in my house! LOL

      Like

  2. suzlyne

    There are several Xmas specials from when I was a kid that I would love to see again. Problem is, I only remember bits and pieces of them and no titles! It’s kind of hard to look for them if you don’t remember the important stuff! LOL! Thanks for the giveaway!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

    Like

    • Rosanna Leo

      Thanks for coming by, Suzlyne. I know – there are so many! It’s hard to pick. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. WOW! Talk about bringing back memories. I remember watching Little Lord Fauntleroy, with a VERY young Ricky Schroeder. I loved that one.
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

    Like

    • Rosanna Leo

      Hi Mel! Awesome- I remember that one too! How Ricky has changed! Thanks for coming.

      Like

  4. patricia crews

    hmmm, i have a few christmas movies i love……National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, Scrooged, Home Alone, The Nightmare Before Christmas, Charlie Brown Christmas, Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer, and How The Grinch Stole Christmas (the animated one, not the jim carey one,lol). these are must watch movies for me during the christmas holidays. good blog post, and thanks for the contest ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. Linda Cappel

    About ten years ago, the TV stations stopped running Alastair Sim’s SCROOGE (1951) on Christmas Eve. Used to be it was run continually all night and only on that night. I grew up learning about what it was like to open your heart to love via that film. It is so imprinted on me I can hear it in my head. In fact, I found a camera error in the film NO ONE ever noticed before and reported it to imdb.com and they are listing it now. Next time you see the film, watch for when Scrooge has awakened from his series of ghost meets and goes to his mirror in his bedroom chamber. Look INTO the mirror carefully. You will see a crewman poking his head into the scene. Not once but TWICE!

    It isn’t Christmas without seeing this film for me. I need to see this, Mr. Magoo’s Christmas Carol and Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer and the Island of Misfit Toys as well as White Christmas, Christmas in Connecticut and Holiday Inn to get into the season. I can watch these and remember the smell of my mom’s cooking, see my dad carving the Christmas turkey and remember decorating the tree with my dad while we listened to Mantovani’s Christmas LPs. My mother died this year as a result of back-to-back strokes and this Christmas is going to be very lonely for me. My dad died in 1995 and since then, my mother and I made sure to carry on the holiday traditions together. I can’t do it this year because I can’t bear to but I WILL put on my DVD of SCROOGE on Christmas Eve and try to get in touch with the child I once was.

    Like

  6. Rosanna Leo

    Hello Linda. Firstly, I’d like to offer my condolences on the passing of your mother this year. I know the holidays are never quite the same when we lose a loved one. We are still mourning a very beloved granny in our home too since last Xmas. I’m sure your mom with be looking down on you and yours with much love. ๐Ÿ™‚ And thank you for the tip on Scrooge! I am a fanatic about that movie and never noticed the crew member! I will have to watch it carefully this year! I wish you all the best and hope you find some peace and happiness this holiday. Hugs!

    Like

  7. Pati

    My all time favorite Christmas speacial isn’t a movie, it’s from the old tv show, “the Waltons” from when the kids are mostly grown…. I just love it! Though I didn’t grow up in the mountains I do come from a huge and once close knit family. Sadly I don’t think that I can watch it this year. Just talking about it is bringing on the tears…. I’ve lost 4 family members in the past 8 months starting with my beloved grandpa. ~sigh~ Anyway, that’s my all time favorite. I wish you all a very Merry Christmas!

    Hugs,
    Pati
    JPM6966@aol.com

    Like

    • Rosanna Leo

      Thanks for visiting, Pati! 4 members? I am so sorry to hear that. Xmas can be a wonderful time, but so hard without those we love. I loved The Waltons too. Thanks for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • Pati

        Yes, all of them to cancer. Until this year our family had been blessed with fairly good health and long lives. It’s very nice to hear that you also liked the Waltons. Most people look at me like I’m nuts, they think that the Waltons were too wholesome and old fashioned. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Hugs,
        Pati

        Like

  8. tabitha tucker

    I always looked forward to the Christmas specials for Little House. So simple yet very heart warming

    Like

  9. kimberley burdick

    I love them all and look forward to this season every year. I have raised my children watching all these heart felt programs, movies. Its hard to just pick afew. Miracle on 34th street, its a wonderful life, christmas messenger, christmas carol with george c scott. Actually I will pull one out and watch in july.

    Like

    • Rosanna Leo

      You sound like me Kimberley! LOL. I love all of them, even the dreadful musical version of Scrooge with Albert Finney! And I have been known to watch off-season too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  10. A fantastic, wonderfully nostalgic look back for this holiday season – c’mon, we all know anything’s awesome when it mentions Oscar Wilde – and I have to say, this blog is top-notch! Thanks for the post, and kudos on the wonderful job you did here! Merry Christmas!

    Like

    • Rosanna Leo

      Aw, thank you M! I love Oscar Wilde. The man was a comedic genius and brilliant in every other way. Merry Christmas to you too!

      Like

  11. Laurie P

    There is one that my daughter and I love to watch, A Smokey Mountain Christmas starring Dolly Parton and Lee Majors. It’s hard to find on TV these days but we both still love it.

    Like

    • Rosanna Leo

      Ooh, Laurie, that is a unique one! Haven’t see it in years. Lee Majors was pretty dishy in his day…just sayin’! LOL

      Like

  12. LLL

    The Grinch Who Stole Christmas is my all time favorite, the original cartoon one. For the very lighthearted aspect, Will Vinton’s Claymation Christmas comes a very close second.

    Like

    • Rosanna Leo

      Hi LLL. Those are wonderful choices for the season. I still love the cartoon Grinch too- Jim Carrey’s version was too Hollywood for me. Thanks!

      Like

  13. Hi everyone! Thanks for all your great comments today. I have drawn a name and the winner of one of my books is Pati! Congrats Pati. An email is on its way to you!

    Like

    • Pati

      Thank you, Rosanna! I also want to thank everyone who posted they all brought back some wonderful memories. ๐Ÿ™‚ Merry Christmas! Hugs, Pati

      Like

  14. Armenia Fox

    I’ve always looked forward to Its a Wonderful Life, and White Christmas. And a Charlie Brown’s Christmas.

    Like

  15. GladysMP

    I enjoyed the Christmas specials like those by Bing Crosby and Lawrence Welk and others. I miss the singers who didn’t have to dress in outlandish outfits or depend on so much backup noise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

