A Real Inspiration

Photobucket

Purchased from/Copyright 123rf.com

I’ve always been a very visual person when it comes to my writing. I get inspired by watching people, movies, music videos and everything in between. My latest project has really given me a huge chance to be very inspired especially since the hero of the series is inspired by a real guy, a fighter.

I’ve been fortunate enough to spend time in different training facilities watching him turn his body and skills into the ultimate ass kicking machine. Even in the short period of time I’ve gotten to see all the hard work and dedication that goes into it all.

Each time I spend time observing and learning I take notes and end up getting so inspired with scenes and things for the book. It is my own personal muse tap. As long as I am around the setting of my story the ideas flow like crazy.

I’ve never done anything like this. Having to base a story on an actual person is so different from writing a fictional hero. You have to observe and really soak in the personality of your subject. You have to capture them on the page and make sure you get it right.

From day one I’ve been excited to take on this new project and do something different, even something out of my comfort zone. Why out of my comfort zone? Well, I’m use to working alone and creating stories that are from my imagination. This time that also applies but a real person is in the mix.

The experience so far has been out of this world and I can’t wait to tell you all more about it. You get to witness truly spectacular moments of greatness. I truly know that this is just the start of something big.

My question to all of you is, have you ever used a real person as an inspiration for a book? How did you find trying to capture him or her in your story? As a reader, do you mind if characters are inspired by actual people?

stay naughty,
Savannah

Categories: 69 Shade Of Smut, Life | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “A Real Inspiration

  1. Everything I write is based on a person or experience I’ve had. It’s easier for me.

    Like

  2. I don’t mind if a real person is used as inspiration…as long as it is understood that the character in the book is not an actual representation of the real person (unless, of course, you aren’t writing fiction). I think it could get pretty sticky if people start confusing the two and ascribing actions or philosophies to the real person which isn’t really the truth…I think you as authors have enough trouble with nutty people taking offense at stories you make up completely, let alone if there is a real person to direct their attention to…if that makes any sense.

    Like

    • ELF, oh it does make sense…The fun thing is this new series will be inspired by a real person but it is fiction…People can wonder whatever they want…The warning will be in the beginning of the book so they are aware…

      Like

  3. I don’t mind if authors use real people as inspiration for characters. For some that makes them seem more real.

    Like

  4. corablu

    I use real encounters and go from there. I’ve been studying bamboo cane and sword fighting for a story and like you said, Savannah it can suck you in. Great post. Can’t wait to read your story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

