OMG…You’ll Never Guess What Gossip I Just Heard!

Psst! Hey 69ers. Come over here. Hurry! I just heard the best gossip about (please insert poor sucker’s name here).

How often have you heard those words? Or something very similar? I know I’ve heard them—probably a million times over—in my twenty-nine years. I mean really. My first memory consists of an overheard conversation in the hospital nursery about the hot doctor boinking the naughty nurse. Can you believe it? They were doing it in the closet like they do on Grey’s Anatomy. Hmmm…maybe, that’s a stretch. But you get the picture. If not, let me know. I’ll hook you up with photos and charts a la screenshots.

Crap, I’m getting sidetracked. I blame it on my recent rerun of Grey’s Anatomy fetish. McDreamy, McSteamy, and McHottie are McYummy. They make me want to run toward the golden arches. Do you want fries with that? takes on a whole new meaning.

Hold on, you lost me…and my rumbling tummy. I’ll be back after a quick trip to the Mickey D’s.

Okay, okay. I’m back. I hope I didn’t take too long. That greasy food was calling my name. And who was I to not answer?

Now where was I? Oh yeah! Gossip. If we’re not sharing some juicy tidbits about a friend or a family member, we’re chattering about someone famous. And boy, those celebrities keep us yapping. They seriously know how to rock the rumors.

Let’s get down to the nitty gritty and be real here, people love to talk about other people’s dirty laundry. They don’t want to clean it…they just want to air it. It’s in our nature. Seriously, there are dozens of magazines dedicated to gossip. Now I could say, “Oh! Well, I never read those magazines.” o“I would never, ever, ever in a million years believe something that didn’t come from the horse’s mouth.” But those would both be lies. When I stand in line at the grocery store, I look at those tawdry magazines filled with all sorts of crazy claims—some true and some…well, bold-faced lies. You know the ones I’m talking about, the ones where aliens walk among us and Elvis is still alive and kicking it.

Generally, I just chuckle and think some snarky comment that I would rather eat snails than to speak aloud. But still, I read the cover. And often, I find myself wondering about the salacious stories inside them. I’m ashamed to admit it…But I want to know why Big Foot stole lingerie from Little Bo Peep. That would make one hell of a story. Even though I don’t crack open the tabloid, my mind still races at the possibilities.

So, what does this have to do with the price of tea in China? Well, it all relates to the next book in my Sweet Serenity series. The three characters in Three Rings and a Rose—Ella Dawson, Caedon Asher, and Micah Blaylock—all have varying degrees of celebrity. Ella, the plus-size model, Caedon, the award-winning actor, and Micah, the bestselling author, aren’t able to escape the singe of scandal. They have to deal with swirling rumors and painful secrets in the public eye. Because of their struggle, I saw the other side of rumors, the darker side. I experienced the pain that the person being talked about experiences. And that got me thinking. Scary thought. I know.

Why do we as a society find pleasure in other people’s pain. Keep in mind, I don’t mean sadism, if that’s what your thinking. I mean that we get a kick out of hearing how Britney Spears showed her naughty bits in public and shaved her head in front of the clicking paparazzi. I mean that we whisper about homewreckers like Leann Rimes, Rachel Uchitel, and most recently Kristen Stewart. We murmur about men who can’t keep their pants zipped. Nope, I’m not just talking about Eddie Cibrian, Tiger Woods, and Rupert Sanders. I’m actually talking about PeeWee Herman showing his wee-wee in public. And that’s only naming a few scandals.

So, what about you? Have you faced rumors or scandals in your life? And if you have, how did you handle it? Please comment below, and you’ll be entered into a contest for $20 in Bookstrand bucks.

Love and cherries,

-Mia

 

Coming Friday, October 26, 2012

Photobucket

 

Ella Dawson learned the hard way how much it hurt to be trapped in the middle of Micah Blaylock and Caedon Asher. The tension between the men drove her to the edge. Then a scandal destroyed her relationship with Caedon, shredding her heart and driving her back to Serenity, Kansas.

Two years later, Caedon still can’t forget Ella or Micah. When a worried friend’s meddling provides him with an opportunity to rekindle the relationships he lost, Caedon jumps in with both feet. But he knows he’ll need Micah’s help.

Secret desires and fears push Micah to refuse Caedon. However, Caedon won’t relent. When he finally convinces Ella and Micah to give sharing a shot, what happens when the two men’s love for each other can no longer be denied? And how will their relationship survive when scandal threatens to tear them apart once again?

It’ll take three rings and a rose to unite these would-be lovers, this time forever.

 

TO READ EXCERPT OR PRE-ORDER NOW, CLICK HERE

Categories: 69 Shade Of Smut, Books, Characters, Contest, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 34 Comments

Post navigation

34 thoughts on “OMG…You’ll Never Guess What Gossip I Just Heard!

  1. Ann Q

    I have worked in a hospital for many years, and yes there was always plenty of gossip and scandal. I realized very quickly that the best way to deal with it was to nod and say “oh really?” and move the conversation on to a different topic. Gossip magazines? well, I only read them when I am waiting at the dentists or doctors. They make me realize that my life is alright, and that the pain that I am about to go through will not be so bad. I would rather have that than live the life of most of those people that I have read about.annpa@gmail.com

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      I know what you mean Ann.I worked in a hospital, and there was always a ton of gossip. It was quite astounding. Sometimes I felt like the workers gossiped more than they worked. But then again, our staff was like 90% women. And half of them didn’t like each other. So they were constantly bickering and talking about others behind their back. I was not fond of that. I tended to sit in the corner and just listen while thinking, “OMG. Please shut up.” LOL. Needless to say, I was not popular. 🙂

      Like

  2. No matter where you work there’s always some kind of rumor or scandal going on. I just try and stay away from it. I can’t do that every time so when people are talking I don’t respond and eventually they’ll shut up. I have enough problems of my own to worry about what gossip is being spread about other people. And most of the time I don’t even know who the celebrity is that’s being talked about! LOL!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      Sounds to me like you have a good head on your shoulder. People should be more like you. 🙂

      Like

  3. I think that I’ve dealt with the rumor mill more in my adult work life then I ever did back in high-school. I work in an office that consists of mostly women, and boy can they spread a rumor. I don’t think there’s anyone that works there that hasn’t been scorched by one. It sucks, but I can’t even deny I’ve joined in occasionally. *hanging my head in shame* Don’t hate me, I’m only human.
    The new books sounds amazing! What a great twist to have them fighting against public perception as well as their own nature. lorikingbooksATyahooDOTcom

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      Lori, I could never hate you. You’re my pal, and you’re fabulous. 🙂 And yes, you’re human. We all are. So don’t feel bad. 🙂

      Thanks. It was a twist that was quite unexpected. I didn’t know Caedon well. Actually, he didn’t exist until I was plotting this book. It was just like, “Oh! Ella’s ex-lover is coming back. Where is he? What’s he doing?” *smacks forehead with palm of hand* Duh! 🙂

      Like

  4. I tend to say and do off the wall things so people never believe any of the rumors anyway. I do know they can be hurtful but I try to just pretend that I don’t hear it or see it.
    I also try my best to avoid spreading gossip because I know that it can be hurtful. Carin
    mawmom at gmail dot com

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      Carin, you are right. Rumors can be hurtful. They hurt more often than not. I had friends in high school who were tormented because some popular guy told everyone that they were lesbians. Keep in mind, this was years ago. Anyway, people just believed him because they were quiet and only had girls for friends. It was horrible. Now, they are both happily married to men they love with adorable children. However, I’m sure they are marked by the bullying.

      Like

  5. I spent most of my high school days in the middle of rumors, Mostly dealing with being with 2 guys. Funny thing, is they turned out true later on in life.
    On the other side, I have participated in gossip..Sometimes its hard to not get caught up in some of the juicy ones.

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      High school is a big ole rumor mill. I learned more rumors/gossip/scandal about my fellow students than I did about history. 😉 That’s bad to say but true.

      Like

  6. SheriV

    I was put through some pretty nasty rumors a few times from so called friends. I’m pretty good at ignoring it as long as I can vent to my best friends. 🙂

    smurfettev AT Gmail DOT com

    Like

  7. Linda H.

    I work as a dispatcher for Police and Fire, so yeah there is always gossip and rumors. The fact that I have a flirty (i like to call it out going) personality has caused problems. I work with a ratio of 1 woman to 25 men LOL. SO it has been rumored time to time that I’m a bit friendlier (hint, hint) that I have been. This has caused some issues at home but It comes down to the men trusting me.

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      Wow. 1 to 25? That would be an interesting job. 🙂 Thankfully, the men trust you. Not that they shouldn’t, of course. But sometimes men get all jealous and possessive…and seriously blinded by it. Sounds like you have good men. 🙂

      p.s. There’s nothing wrong with a flirty personality, Linda. 🙂

      Like

  8. Lisa

    I have had things happen in my life that has made people talk behind my back most times not hurtful….mostly about my sons illness most people are scared to ask about it…so they talk behind my back….this bothers me….so how do I deal with it….I tell them I’m a pretty open person and I don’t get offended by there questions only offeneded they don’t ask me themselves…..so now whenever someone has a question they come directly to me and ask….they no I won’t get upset….

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      That is awesome, Lisa. Telling them to come to you is a good idea. I can’t imagine how hard it would be to have people talking behind my back rather than coming to me about something like that. But it sounds like you were very adult about it. I’m sure your friends appreciate it. 🙂

      Like

  9. I’m with Linda. I am also a 911 dispatcher and find it amazing how rumors start. While I am close to some of the men I work with and consider them brothers sometimes the outside world that doesn’t understand our relationship misunderstands us or are just plain idiots and intentionally want to cause trouble.

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      Sometimes it kills me how much people just want to cause trouble for no good reason. It’s like, “Seriously? Don’t you have something better to do?” Oops, sorry. I got on my soapbox. 🙂

      Like

  10. Lisa

    I was the one being gossiped and rumored about, I just didnt know it. I was married young the first time and he cheated on me with numerous others in our town and after our divorce people came out of everywhere to talk to me about what they had seen and heard, thanks for letting me know while it occured. Lots more to the story but its been 17 years and it made me a much stronger person.

    lisa DOT mancl AT charter DOT net

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      OMG! I’m so sorry to hear about that. But you’re right about being stronger. Often the things that are the most difficult, make us grow the most. I think it’s awesome that you were able to grow and rise about it. Sounds like your ex-husband lost out on a lovely wife. 🙂

      Like

  11. Robin Womack

    Have to say in jr high there were rumors spead about me being a lesbian. It was hard to deal with and mostly just ignored it. Once in high school it just kind of died. The rumors weren’t true but it didn’t seem to matter what I said. Please understand I have nothing against it, it just wasn’t me. I did have true friends who were there and supported me.

    I’m looking forward to your new release. I love this series and can’t wait to read more of what you write.
    Robin

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      Robin, my friends has that exact same rumor spread about them. They really suffered at the hands of other students. One day I got fed up, and I confronted the douchebag who spread the rumor. It was hard, but I did. I reamed him out in front of our entire class, and it felt pretty darn good.

      I am sorry that you went through those sort of rumors. Being able to ignore it is a wonderful thing. I honestly couldn’t have done that. Even though I know that you’re right and denying it doesn’t help, I would struggle. Of course, it’s because of my people pleasing nature. But still. You’re very strong.

      Thank you. I can’t wait until tomorrow. 🙂

      Like

  12. Elizabeth

    Adele’s pregnant? Really? when did that happen. I do’t watch much TV or read the current magazines so all the celebrity rumors really pass me by. In my real life, I prefer to not hear the scandal, gossip, rumors etc. Most people have learned that I don’t give a damn and don’t want to hear it If someone tells me something it mostly goes in one ear and out the other unless it actually concerns the person talking to me. Strange I know. Tell me the truth and we go from there. ladyroseraven@gmail.com

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      Good attitude. The truth will set you free. 🙂 I try to avoid gossip in my personal life, but it always finds me. Of course, I either get mad at the person sharing it with me or bang my head against the wall. It just depends. As far as entertainment news, I used to be horrible. I kept up with all that stuff. But not so much anymore. I have too much going on in my life to spend tons of time on People.com or Eonline.com or something like that. I do go there occasionally, just not often. As I said in the blog, I do skim headlines. It’s a flaw of mine. 🙂

      Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      p.s. Adele had a baby boy. But I have no clue what his name is. 🙂

      Like

  13. Shelley

    I don’t keep up too much anymore, with celebrity gossip except what I read on the front covers at the check out line and to be honest I’m not aware of any gossip about me. Yes, I’ve participated on occasion, to my shame. For the most part, I’ve tried to just keep my mouth shut as I’ve gotten older. Like someone said before, I’ve got too much other shit going on in my life to be worried too much about other people’s problems. :O)

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      The check out line mags suck a lot of us in. I think the retailers do that on purpose. But I can’t confirm or deny that. 🙂 And don’t be ashamed that you’ve participated. I think at some point, everyone has been touched by the gossip in one way or another. Some have heard. Some have shared. And some have been the victim. It’s sad. But true.

      Like

  14. Peggy

    Gossip? Oh yeah,still dealing with it. But, I think,the worst is when it’s a family member that is gossiping about you. It use to really bother me now I just say bite me.I have really distanced myself from troublemakers. Other things going on in my life that is more important. 🙂

    Peggy
    Jpeg2@msn.com

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      Yes Peggy! You nailed it on the head. There’s too much going on to allow venom to poison your life. You keep it up, girl! 🙂

      Like

  15. Kathy

    As a rule I don’t like to gossip, as I would not like people gossiping about me. Sort of a do unto others …….. you get the drift. Now if it is gossip about a celebrity, I don’t mind but not if it is needlessly hurtful or just plain disgusting.

    Like

    • Mia Ashlinn

      I know what you mean.As people, we should never do something we wouldn’t want done to ourselves. You obviously have a good head on your shoulders about that. 🙂

      Like

  16. Mia Ashlinn

    Hi everyone! I hope to have a winner this afternoon! Thanks to all of you for participating! 🙂

    Like

  17. Mia Ashlinn

    And the winner is….drumroll please….Peggy! Woohoo! I just sent you an email with the information about your prize. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

