What is love? 

What is love?
Photobucket
“Image courtesy of Ventrilock / FreeDigitalPhotos.net”.

I am in the love business. I spend most of my days dreaming up and creating happily ever after’s for the characters in my books. I think about, study and write about love very regularly and think I have a pretty good grasp on the difference between lust and love, the desire for both, and the things that make a relationship between a man and a woman truly amazing.

Then again, there are days where I am surprised, surprised by people, days where I have to sit back and just say wow.

Today was one of those days for me, a time when I found something online that made me take another look at what I thought was true, re-examine my perspective on life and love.

There’s a photo documentary of this beautiful couple showing clearly a series of 22  images portraying a couple being truly in love. Check them out here. http://www.buzzfeed.com/txblacklabel/true-love-in-pictures-only-28m7. It’s definitely worth the click.

Their photos are an amazing example of the love we all want, and the love, at the very core that we want to give to another person. It shows that truly loving someone is accepting them for who they are, and who they aren’t, adapting to anything life throws at them and being there to support one another. Love is not about looking a certain way or having money or a certain lifestyle, but it’s about giving your heart and accepting theirs. Forever.

We want love to be beautiful and easy and fun, but that’s not how it works. Sometimes love is hard, sometimes it’s ugly and sometimes it isn’t fun. But those times are the times we really see what we are made of, really see that having love makes it worth slogging through those times and seeing the sunshine at the end of the tunnel, and  love is worth the time and effort and work it takes to prove to ourselves to the people that we love that we will be there for them.

So, I want to know. What does love mean to you?

Sky

skyrobinson.com

Categories: Uncategorized | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “What is love? 

  1. Sky, Those pictures brought tears to my eyes. We all hope to find someone that loves us deeply enough to carry us on their back through the muck of life. To see it in such a tangible way is breathtaking. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • Sky Robinson

      I’m glad you enjoyed. It is just an amazing act of humanity and the display of the love we all want.

      Like

  2. That does my heart good! I am humbled by the love that those two share and all they have been through. Thanks for sharing. Carin

    Like

  3. That was absolutely beautiful. That’s what it’s all about. The way they were looking at each other, there for each other, no matter what. Awesome.

    Like

  4. Ileandra Young

    What absolutely beautiful pictures. A beautiful couple and you’ve quite right; that’s what love is. Not age, or looks, or money, but championship, understanding, sacrifice and honesty.
    That’s what it is for me.

    Like

  5. That was beautiful. Just beautiful.

    Like

  6. Thanks , I’ve just been searching for info about this subject for a long time and yours is the greatest I’ve discovered so far.
    However, what concerning the conclusion? Are you certain concerning the source?

    Like

  7. What’s up, yeah this article is genuinely fastidious and I have learned lot of things
    from it on the topic of blogging. thanks.

    Like

  8. Excellent way of telling, and fastidious article to get information regarding my presentation focus, which i am going to deliver in institution of higher education.

    Like

  9. I was recommended this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether
    this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty.

    You’re amazing! Thanks!

    Like

  10. You could certainly see your expertise in the article you write.
    The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who
    aren’t afraid to mention how they believe.
    All the time follow your heart.

    Like

  11. I read this piece of writing fully about the difference
    of newest and earlier technologies, it’s remarkable
    article.

    Like

  12. Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many
    months of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any solutions
    to prevent hackers?

    Like

  13. This is my first time go to see at here and i am genuinely impressed to read all at alone place.

    Like

  14. First off I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if
    you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself
    and clear your head prior to writing. I’ve had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my
    ideas out. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to
    15 minutes are usually lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints?
    Thank you!

    Like

  15. Quality articles or reviews is the secret to invite the people to go to
    see the web page, that’s what this web page is providing.

    Like

  16. I’m very happy to discover this site. I want to to thank you for ones time due to this
    wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it and I have you book
    marked to see new information in your site.

    Like

  17. Howdy! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new
    iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all
    your posts! Keep up the excellent work!

    Like

  18. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is valuable and all. Nevertheless think of if you added some great photos or videos to
    give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and videos,
    this blog could certainly be one of the best in its field.

    Amazing blog!

    Like

  19. Hello There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn. That is a very smartly written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your helpful information.
    Thank you for the post. I will certainly return.

    Like

  20. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I
    clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m
    not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say great blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

