The Vacation of My Dreams

I haven’t had a ‘real’ vacation this summer. We’ve driven to a few local places for a night or two away, but to me, a vacation is a week away at an exotic location.

Pink watches the Disney parade

We’ve done Disney World in Orlando a few times when the little ones were smaller and still entranced by princesses and pirates. We’ve rented cottages on lakes and learned to pontoon, fish, and swim without touching the weedy bottom. (Yes, I’m a weed-o-phobe!) We’ve visited relatives, spent time on the family farm, and ridden our bikes on state trails.

I need more! I need a dream vacation. What would that be, though? The thought of hauling the family to Europe just doesn’t seem appealing. That’ll be something Kick and I will do one day, just the two of us, when we’re feeling especially romantic. France, Ireland, Italy. I could spend a month touring those fascinating countries.

Can’t vacation without the right hat!

I think the perfect family vacation would have a beach, lots of swimming, snorkeling, and fishing. It would have lots of interesting places to hike and explore. It would have long, shady stretches of bike paths for us to get our 20 miles in each day. Horseback rides across a lovely green landscape is a necessity. And interesting food, an exotic atmosphere, as well as fascinating people.

It sounds like…Hawaii. Kick and I watch Hawaii 5-0 whenever we get the chance because of the beautiful scenery. (Okay, for me, Alex O’Loughlin is a big draw, too.) I can imagine us renting a little shack on a secluded beach for a month and just soaking in everything the island offers. Some day, it’ll happen!

That’s my dream. I’d love to hear yours. What’s your idea of the perfect vacation?

Happy Monday!
Randi “Rode Hard and Put Up Satisfied”
RandiAlexander.com
Turn Up the Heat, Chase and Seduction, and Her Cowboy Stud are available at The Wild Rose Press and Amazon
Cowboy Bad Boys is available in digital format at Smashwords and Amazon
and in paperback from Createspace and at Amazon
Cowboy Lust is available in paperback and Kindle format at Amazon

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “The Vacation of My Dreams

  1. I have always wanted to go to Australia. To the outback, to see what their ranches are like. I’ll never make it but the dream is nice.
    Good Luck with your plans for your trip. I guess I’d like to see Hawaii too. LOL.

    Like

    • Come on down Tiss, and check out our cattle stations (we don’t have ranches lol). We’re a long way away, I know, but it’d be worth the trip. When I blog in September (Andra Ashe) I’ll be giving away a romance based in the bush (as well as a few other goodies).

      Like

    • Randi Alexander

      That would be amazing, Tiss. I just read a book you’d love. Their Newborn Gift by Nikki Logan. It’s about Australia, and uses all kinds of Aussie words that I got to look up. Both the main characters owned ranches and bred horses. Let’s make a deal – you take me with to Australia, and I’ll take you with to Hawaii! LOL

      Like

  2. I’ve always wanted to travel the world. Just see every corner of the earth. I hope to one day do so.

    Like

    • Randi Alexander

      Wouldn’t that be amazing, Savannah? Take a couple years and go everywhere, experience everything. Wow, now you’re making me think twice about my Hawaii plans…

      Like

  3. Ahhh so many places on my ‘to do’ list but No.1 at present would be the gorgeous Greek island Santorini. Vivid blue ocean, white houses dotting the hillsides and spectacular views – not to mention the possibility of a hunky Greek god or two.

    Like

    • Randi Alexander

      I can just picture it, Andra. The view AND the Greek hunk. Good choice! I hope you make it there soon and share your photos with me!

      Like

    • Randi Alexander

      My FIL took a cruise to Alaska and just loved it. I’m sure you’d be on the fishing tour of the state. Maybe we can find a writers’ conference up there…

      Like

  4. Hawaii sounds fabulous, Randi! But I have family there so we visit quite often. So I have to vote with Jackie, Alaska! Funnily enough, hubby just suggested we do a cruise, and I added, “An Alaskan cruise!”

    Like

    • Randi Alexander

      Oh, there you go, Jasmine. What an amazing place to see from the water and on land. You’ll have to keep us updated on your plans!

      Like

  5. Laurie P

    I would love to spend a couple of months or more exploring the British Isles. Visit all of the Scotch distilleries, hit all of the pubs (see if I can find Gerard Butler, Liam Neeson, Colin Firth, Pierce Brosnan, Daniel Craig there somewhere)

    Like

    • Randi Alexander

      Sounds like a fun trip, Laurie! You could probably get a whole bunch of us together to go looking for the hotties!

      Like

Leave a Reply

