Vacation pics from Sky

I love to travel, but at this point in life, with two little boys, traveling is a lot more work than staying home. But does that slow me down? Not even a little bit. This summer I’ve spent more time on the road than at home. It’s not over yet with trips planned to Seattle, the Black Hills, and a weeklong fishing trip in Canada the next three weeks are going to be crazy busy and my head is already spinning.

I prefer adventure travel, not that I would turn down five star hotels and gourmet meals, but cooking over an open fire, sleeping under the stars and being far away from any city or other people is where I really want to be. Climbing a mountain or snowmobiling, or scuba diving, now that’s my kind of vacation.

My favorite trips involve mountains or beaches. There’s  just something amazing about sitting under the majesty of a mountain or at the edge of the vastness of an ocean that can’t be described. They have a power, an awe factor that I can’t get enough of.

Most of my books are based in one of those locations. Double Dare is set in the mountains, in the Black Hills and one of my favorite places to visit. In fact a very smexy scene takes place on this exact spot. 🙂

Photobucket

I also started a series set in the Caribbean, on a fictional island called Sol Cay, the perfect paradise and a place I would love to vacation if it really existed. Bermuda Triangle was the first book in the series, and Caribbean Heat will be coming soon from Ellora’s Cave. I have a third book almost completed, but I’ve stopped working on it this summer. The Caribbean is not a place I look forward to right now. It’s damn hot at my house, and I sure don’t dream of warmer places right now. In December, January and February you know I’ll be back to writing on that series, hoping for warmer weather and happy to be writing about it again.

Photobucket

This picture is actually from a recent trip to Mexico, but you get the idea.
Photobucket

The winter is what I’m dreaming about now.  Ready to be done with the heat and take on some cold and snow.

I’m working on a futuristic book, set in the cold darkness of outer space. Enjoying the cool temperatures…at least in my mind.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Vacation pics from Sky

  1. Those are so pretty. Love the water… My dream is to travel the world..

    Like

    • Sky Robinson

      My dream is to travel the world too Savannah, but right now I’m happy exploring areas closer to home. So many amazing things to see and do.

      Like

  2. Wow, great pics Sky. You’re making me want to lay on the beach and ignore all my responsibilities.

    Like

    • Sky Robinson

      If only the ocean could make them go away… Aren’t you going on a vacation real soon?

      Like

  3. Julia Devlin

    I am, but to Wisconsin Dells, otherwise known as Kid’s Las Vegas… Not quite the same relaxation, but fun never the less.

    Like

  4. That last photo looks like the Norwegian mountains I just visited the last February, Sky. Great pictures!

    Like

    • Sky Robinson

      Thanks Jamine. Wish I could visit the Norwegian mountains sometime soon…

      Like

Leave a Reply

