A little reincarnation, please…

I’m always nervous when I give readers a taste of a new book, especially when I’ve only finished the rough draft and haven’t even edited yet. Every book is a like a baby and the first time you let her go on her own is terrifying, but here goes! Twisted by Love is the first book of my new Reincarnation Tales, so first I have to preface my excerpt with a bit of explanation about where the idea came from.

I’ve always loved reincarnation stories. The Reincarnation of Peter Proud by Max Erlich was my first taste of it. Loved that book! Then there was Dead Again. Great movie! Hmm, it’s been a while, maybe I better watch that tonight! In romance fiction, I’ve always thought that reincarnation has great possibilities: the love that never dies, everlasting love, finding each other in the next life, and of course, the villain that follows you through many lives. As a child, I had recurring dreams about snakes biting me. My sister was always in the dreams, too, either throwing snakes at me or standing by and watching as they struck. They were terrifying. My mom tells the story of having to mime picking snakes out of my bed before I’d go back to sleep. These recurring dreams followed me into adulthood. Where did they come from? The snake is a universal symbol, of course, right from Adam and Eve. But I always wondered if maybe my dreams meant something more, something specific and personal to me. So I took the plunge and did regression hypnosis. Okay, yes, now you’re all are thinking I’m crazy! Maybe I am. But here’s my regression tale:

I’m a little boy on a summer day sitting on a dock with my feet in the river. I can even see the neatly pressed pleat of my red shorts. It’s such a pretty day with the sun streaming through the trees. My sister is playing over by the big willow. She’s supposed to be watching me, but she doesn’t want to be here with me. I can’t walk. There’s something wrong with my legs. My sister thinks she gets treated like a servant, always having to do things for me. She thinks Mama likes me better. But today I don’t care because it’s not hot and muggy like usual. But then I see the snakes swimming through the water. They swarm around my legs. They start biting me, but I can’t feel anything. And I can’t move. I scream for my sister, Mama, anyone. But no one comes. And they keep biting. Then I’m gone.

After I did the regression, the dreams miraculously stopped. Was it true? Was that me? Was that why I had dreams of snakes, because in a previous life I was bitten and died? Too many questions, no answers, but I found it compelling that the dreams, though not the same as the regression, had many parallels. And they stopped so suddenly, in conjunction with the hypnosis.

So there’s my tale, and I’ve finally written my reincarnation story. Here’s a brief unedited excerpt of

Twisted by Love.
Reincarnation Tales Book 1
Copyright 2012 Jasmine Haynes

He saw her out of the corner of his eye as he crossed the lobby, his mind on his morning meeting with Richardson. She was just a flash in his periphery, and his first thought was that he hadn’t seen her in ages, and Jesus, what was she doing here, of all places? Her name was right there on the tip of his tongue, yet the moment he turned, ready to call out to her, the name vanished. It was like a dream you suddenly awoke from, where one moment you were completely convinced it was real, and in the next, the details begin to fade. He realized he didn’t know the woman at all.

Her mahogany hair curled like fine strands of silk and swayed across her back as she walked at a fast clip, her high heels tapping on the marble floor. Her tailored business suit fit snugly to her hips, outlining her trim curves. In profile, her eyelashes were long and lush, the color of her eyes dark but indeterminate. She didn’t smile, didn’t look at anyone, not even him, though he’d stopped to watch her.

No, he didn’t know her, her fine-boned features unfamiliar. Yet he still felt that original smack of recognition. But the name…the name was gone, not even a hint of its rhythm or the letter it began with.

She joined the throng in front of the bank of elevators, shuffled forward as the middle car arrived, and filed inside amidst the dense crowd. She turned to face front, meeting his eyes—though he could have imagined that—just as the doors closed on her.

He couldn’t say how long he stood in the lobby, a rock in the middle of a stream of office workers, struck by the sense that he knew her. Perhaps she’d had surgery, changed her nose or altered her delicate jaw line. Something…he couldn’t put his finger on it, because really, she wasn’t familiar at all. At least not in looks.

Someone jostled his arm, and he shook himself. Five minutes later, as he entered his office, he wondered where the hell those fanciful notions had come from. He put her out of his mind.

But then he saw her again…

I hope you enjoyed this little excerpt of my upcoming release, Twisted by Love. I’ll probably have it ready sometime in August. So, if you dare, let’s talk about reincarnation, and if you’ve ever experienced déjà vu.

A little bit of promo! July brings us Smashwords summer/winter sale! You can try Double the Pleasure, Dead to the Max, and Revenge Sex for free! Just go to my Smashwords page: http://bit.ly/RcUiWd. She’s Gotta Be Mine by Jennifer Skully (me!) is also free on Amazon, but not for much longer!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “A little reincarnation, please…

  1. I really like it and can’t wait to read more of this…Loved the tease..

    Like

  2. The start of the book is intriguing. I applaud you for trying so many different types of stories. I don’t know if I’m going to like anything as much as Past Midnight, but I’m certainly willing to give these others a try.

    Like

  3. The regression hypnotism thing is so interesting.

    Like

    • It was actually quite fun to do, Sky. I was easily hypnotized. And the regression fit so perfectly with the dreams I had for years. The mind works in mysterious ways.

      Like

Leave a Reply

