Meet Dita Parker

First things first, please join me in wishing the warmest of birthdays to my partner in smut, Em Petrova! Happy Birthday, Em, you don’t look a day over absolutely fabulous!! Still drunk on your hunk-junk, btw. That was brilliant.

So. I feel like such a rookie in this crowd, but you don’t have to go gently on me, I promise I can take a pounding. But when I looked at those backlists and imagined the giveaways we’d be doing, I realized this was going to get really embarrassing really fast.

It’s Memorial Day weekend in the States, so allow me to roam down memory lane a bit. I published my first erotic romance, Alex Rising, in the spring of 2010. It was the first Romantica I had ever submitted anywhere, so you bet I was absolutely blown away when Ellora’s Cave picked it up pronto. But the Universe likes her balance. My career victory coincided with personal catastrophe. I lost two loved ones that very same year. It messed me up. It messed up my writing. My next submission tanked and for the longest time I feared I had lost that loving feeling you need to write romance, as well. But I never stopped writing. I couldn’t.

The best way to get over rejection, or brace yourself for it, is to move on to the next book. That’s what I did, so it didn’t sting as badly as I thought it would. I was already waist-deep in my next manuscript and jotting down ideas for other stories. I had no time to dwell on the past. The people I lost are gone forever. I hurt and I long, but life goes on, and if there’s one thing that prompted me to write romance in the first place is how life-affirming love and lust are.

Love makes the world go round. All you need is love. Love lifts us up where we belong. Everything I do (I do it for you), love. I really do. Silly love songs. Sappy movies. Romance novels. Why do we love them so much? Because no matter what, we still believe. What else is there worth fighting for and believing in? Your dreams and aspirations.

I’d like to sign off by flaunting fresh-off-the-press cover art for my next release, a paranormal erotic romance titled Perpetual Pleasure. The pocket Venus is Lucie, the best-kept secret in Savannah. Not born yesterday, that one. In 1751, to be exact. That girl needed to let her hair down. As you can see, the hair has come down. Who is he? Swing by June 8th! Let’s interrogate him a bit, see how he likes that. That man takes no bull from anyone, and I developed a bit of a crush on him while writing the story. *sigh* You’ll see.

PerpetualPleasure-1

I live at Four Seasons, aka Scandinavia, where it’s the most magical time of the year, the threshold between spring and summer. When I’m not making mischief with the 69ers, I blog at Dita’s Den and some of you may have come across my Frisky Friday posts. My latest is all about physical and emotional self-love and the health benefits of masturbation. No, I don’t shy away from any topic related to sex and sexuality. So there.

Leave a comment after the beep and win one of fourteen red-hot reads given away by our authors! Every comment you leave before midnight PST, June 2 equals an entry into the contest. If your name is chosen, you’ll get your choice of an ebook from from one author’s book list! BEEP.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 49 Comments

Post navigation

49 thoughts on “Meet Dita Parker

  1. Mia Ashlinn

    Dita, I am so sorry to hear about your losses. That must have been a very tough thing to deal with. It does sound as though you came through the tragedies stronger than most, not that that makes is any better for your heart. However, it impresses me to hear how you found the strength to carry on. Many people struggle with this, and I think it is wonderful you managed to find your way. You are correct about how life-affirming love and lust is. I look forward to getting to know you better as time passes. Have a lovely weekend!

    Like

    • Thank you, Mia. It was sooo hard and it still blindsides me at times, but I got to say goodbye to both so nothing was left undone or unsaid and that gives me peace. Friends and family kept me sane. Work and writing kept me sane. And here I am, about to release a new book!

      I really really look forward to getting to know you better, too! Smutty times ahead…

      Like

  2. Nancy Wolfe

    I really liked reading about everyone and love the blog name “69shadesofsmut”. Reading is a huge part of my life; I could not imagine going a day without reading a good book.

    A huge thank you to you and all the writers that are featured on this blog. Your books brighten my day and give a smile

    Keep up the excellent writing and I hope everyone has a wonderful Memorial Day weekend!

    Like

    • Nancy, thank you for your wonderful words, I believe I speak for every author here when I say that is music to writers’ ears!

      We are readers too so we do love and appreciate a good story, but being able to write something that moves others is a gift I’m sure none of us wish to lose any time soon.

      So glad you found us, come back soon, you hear, and enjoy the start of summer!

      Like

  3. It’s always hard to lose those we love but you’re right, the ability to love is life affirming and one reason I think so many of us enjoy reading (and writing) romance. The cover for your upcoming release is smoking hot and I’m betting the story is too:)

    Like

    • Hi Paris, so nice to see you here! Have you done your Frisky Friday homework yet?

      I’m really pleased with how the cover turned out. It goes perfectly with the story. ๐Ÿ˜‰ More deets coming soon so stayed tuned, and thank you for taking the time to stop by!

      Like

  4. Good Morning Dita! Thank you for sharing your story. I am sorry for your loss. It is times like those that seem to become turning points in life. I am glad you have been able to continue to pursue your writing career. I look forward to reading your books, especially if you have covers like this one!!
    Mel

    Like

  5. Tina

    I am sorry to read of your loss. I know you have come through it stronger because you kept going with life and you still have your joy of writing. You are a new author to me and I look forward to reading more about you and your books.

    Like

  6. Thanks, Melissa, and thank you, Tina. There’s definitely that sense of before and after, but many wonderful things have happened since, there’s so much to look forward to and be grateful for, so that’s what I focus on when I feel blue.

    I hope you enjoy my books, they are, quite literally, labors of love. And yes, I’ve been a very lucky girl in the cover department. To have a look at Alex, click my name way up there in the banner.

    Thanks for playing!

    Like

  7. I have really enjoyed reading the posts everyday and learning more about the authors and their books. I love the cover, Jimmy Thomas, looks great! I will be checking out your blog.

    Like

    • Jackie, you and me both! Some very naughty but super nice authors in the house.

      Do stop by Dita’s Den when you have the chance, I’ll be up to no good, I promise. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  8. Randi Alexander

    Dita, I’m so sorry to hear about your losses. I’m glad you had writing to come back to. Glad you see you’ve got a new release coming. I’m looking forward to lots of fun 69 Shades adventures!

    Like

    • Randi, s’okay.

      I’m beyond excited to be here! Would not have seen the day had I given up on writing. Moral of the story, I guess: Never ever give up on yourself, the people or the things you love most.

      Like

  9. A Scandinavian. I knew you were “over there”, Dita, but I for some reason, I thought it was England. My family is from Norway. My husband and I were there in February because we also lost a loved one, and I offer my condolences to you on your losses.

    So glad you’ve joined the group, and your cover is fabulous!

    Like

    • Hei Jasmine! Ok, I don’t really speak Norwegian. I’m originally European yes, but I spent my childhood in Brazil and shorter periods elsewhere later on, so I’m a cultural mongrel if you will, one of those people who doesn’t know what to answer when asked, “Where are you from?” Anywhere I lay my hat and so on. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I think it’s fabulous we’re such a diverse group, from coast to coast and continent to continent, it’s bound to make things interesting. Can’t wait to see what happens!

      Like

      • I don’t really speak Norwegian either! My husband does, but most of the relatives speak English, so I get by when I’m there or they’re visiting here. And I totally agree, we’re a great diverse group here!

        Like

  10. Lisa Baugh

    Love the cover art you posted, so sensual! can’t wait to get a chance to read some of your books…all the authors on here are new to me, so i am going a bit book crazy and trying to find as many as i can to add to my ‘wishlist’ so that I can tell my husband to get them for me, lol.

    Like

    • Oh Lisa, you’re not the only one with an extended TBR list, mine is ridiculous! Writers are often so busy writing or reading for research, they fall behind on their pleasure reading and that’s a crying shame.

      I hope you find new favorite authors here. I know I’m loving what I’m seeing and hearing!

      And thanks, can’t take credit for the cover art, only say that I think it’s as sexy as it is beautiful. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  11. Dita, I want to start off by saying I’m so sorry for your loss. The bumps in our life are what make us stronger and better. I’m so glad you are back on track with your work. Your book sounds hot and I’ve added it to my reading pile. It is a pleasure to be a part of this blog with you.

    Like

    • Thanks, Savannah. I know these past two years have made me more sensitive, and I was a pretty observant thing to begin with, but I guess a writer can only benefit from being on their toes.

      Back in the saddle, baby! Feels sooo good. Let there be smut! If we write it, they will come. Pun totes intended. I haven’t lost my sense of humor, as you’re bound to find out. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      • Oh with this place you will be back on track and we will be there to push and support…This is a smutty world and we must embrace our inner smut..

        Like

        • Hear hear, Savannah! Embrace as in both hands thrown around said smut, talons dug in deep, poor smut begging for…I mean…to be released! Hey, this blog really works! I’m barely out of bed and my mind is already back between the sheets. Better start writing something fast. ๐Ÿ˜‰

          Like

  12. Thank you for sharing with us and good luck on your new release!

    Like

    • My pleasure and thank you! Don’t have a release date yet but I’ll keep you all posted every step of the way, I promise. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  13. Dita-I am sorry for your loss. Congratulations on being able to get back up on your feet and continuing to write.

    Like

    • S’okay, Angel-Ramona, show me someone who hasn’t faced this at some point. Life, right? And writing…I think I’m past the point of no return, but I’m loving every step of the way. Yes, even the this-sucks-a-left-nut days. They make the good ones really sweet. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  14. Ashley

    Sorry for your loss. I am glad that you were able to continue writing. Totally agree with you about love! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Happy Memorial Day to those who celebrate! Thanks to those who sacrificed so I could celebrate!

    Like

    • Hi Ashley, thanks for coming! Life sure ain’t pink elephants and butterflies all of the time, but I would go stark raving mad without people to love and the people who love me back. Or writing. So glad I didn’t lose that.

      Happy Memorial Day!

      Like

  15. I’d like to thank everyone who stopped by today for your kind words and support, I wish you the best of luck in our book giveaway!

    My carriage is fast turning into a pumpkin, meaning it’s time for my beauty sleep. Comments are not closed, so feel free to leave one and I’ll get back to you first thing tomorrow.

    Enjoy your Sunday, wherever you are!

    Like

  16. Michelle Vasquez

    I am sorry you suffered so much loss in such a short period of time! It’s a wonderful thing that you have your writing. I love the cover for Perpetual Pleasure!

    And, Happy Birthday Em!

    Like

    • Michelle, writing is a beautiful thing! I write something completely different in another language, so when I get stuck I just switch language and genre for a while and problem solved. Well, most of the time at least. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Oh but I love that cover, too. More info coming soon!

      Like

  17. Debbie L.

    Have a Safe & Happy Memorial Day Holiday to ALL…. happy b-day EM.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Greetings from the future, aka Monday morning! I hope your weekend was made of awesome, and it still continues, right? For me, it’s just another day at the office. *sigh*

      Like

  18. Robin D

    Your book looks great!

    Like

  19. ebondreams

    I’m sorry to hear about your losses. Congratulations on your successes. I can’t wait to read your book it looks delish!

    Nikki

    Like

  20. meingee

    Sorry to hear about your losses. I am glad you are able to keep writing and keep going with your wonderful career.

    Like

    • Me too, Meingee. Stories and storytelling, be it books, movies, lyrics, any art form really, have fascinated me for as long as I can remember. I’m truly grateful for the drive, inspiration, ability, whatever you want to call it, to produce original stories of my own.

      Like

  21. Sky Robinson

    So sorry to hear about your loss and so glad to have you as a 69er!

    Like

  22. Your story is one of strength over challenges. I hope you can remember your loved ones with peace instead of all pain. Your cover is wonderful, the book sounds fun, and I’m so glad to have met you!

    Like

    • Mia, I guess it’s a clichรฉ that hard times bring out inner reserves of strength in people, but I found it to be true. Whatever resources I had developed along the way have come in handy, I can tell you that. It’s a world without them from now on, but I got to say goodbye and no one can rob me of my memories or the times we shared.

      Shiny happy things in the horizon, though! Hot books to write and read, new friends to make. Thanks for being one, Mia, stop by anytime!

      Like

  23. Hugs on your losses. Your career is bright, through the tragedy. And thank you for the birthday wishes. X

    Like

  24. Eva P.

    Very good to meet you Dita, I love that name by the way. I am glad to hear that you have not given up, I would love to read some of your work and I love that cover, very sexy!!!

    Like

    • Hi, Eva, good to meet you, too! And thanks, I think Dita is a pretty sassy name if I do say so myself.

      I’m really pleased with how the cover turned out. Very eye-catching. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope you like the story just as much, more deets coming soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

