Forcing myself out of the dark

Hi, It’s me… Julia.

So, I’m late to the party, per usual.  See the problem is I only have so many hours in the day and I’m one of those annoying people who need sleep… but anyway, I’m sorry.

I want to send a big shout out to my fellow bloggers who got this blog up and running and did all of the hard work that goes into making something like this a success. Thanks you guys for carrying me! I promise, I’ll return the favor.

Since I’m late, I’m going to copy what the group did on the kick off blog post and tell you some random facts about me:

I am the worst social networker ever. I want to be good, but my problem is that I get sucked into places like Twitter, Facebook, and blogs. I’m like an addict, once I start talking, I can’t stop and the next thing I know 5 hours will disappear and I’ll have done nothing.  There is a direct correlation between how jam-packed my schedule is and how much I’m online.

I’m a total gadget/ computer geek and must have the newest version of everything as soon as it comes out.  I tried to tell my husband that it’s better than having a wife that loves diamonds. His response- but you don’t have to buy new diamonds every year.

For a writer, I pretty much suck at spelling.  Not good.

I just got a new puppy and everyday since have wonder what possessed me to impulsively stop at an animal shelter.  But seriously, she’s super adorable… see look…

And finally, I just had a new book released from Ellora’s Cave called The Real Mason.  I was in the mood to write a little BDSM and Mason and Anna really sucked me in with their dilemma.  See, Mason is about to break up with Anna because he’s been hiding the fact that he’s a Dom.  Oh, and it has the most awesome cover ever.  See look…

If you’re interested in checking it out you can find it at Ellora’s Cave.

Thanks for spending some time with me today, have a great day!

~Julia~

Categories: Uncategorized | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “Forcing myself out of the dark

  1. Michelle Vasquez

    It’s way too easy to get sucked into FB & Twitter and waste too much time. I tend to do that too. What an adorable puppy! The Real Mason looks awesome! I just put it on my wish list.

    Michelle V

    Like

  2. Susan W.

    I have no idea how to twitter but I had to get on twitter to get a Kindlegraph. I don’t think I even remember what it is! LOL!!! I can barely get around on Facebook but I LOVE the blogs! I’ve found so many new to me authors to read that my Kindle is filling up. Speaking of new to me authors, I’m looking forward to adding your books to that list.

    Like

  3. I know what you mean about social media. My older boys (aged 18, 19, 20) make fun of me because I do more than they do. My younger ones (Aged 9 and 7) are so anxious to do what I do. I’m not ready for that yet!

    What a cute puppy! She looks so sweet and loveable.

    I do love the cover for The Real Mason! That definitely draws me in. TBR…Here we come.

    Mel

    Like

  4. I get trapped on the computer too. Love the puppy. I will be checking out your book!

    Like

  5. Sky Robinson

    Hi Julia, welcome to the party!

    Like

  6. Wow! Thanks for such a warm welcome.

    Yes, my puppy Daphne is super cute, and I couldn’t ask for a better puppy. Of course, she’s still a puppy!

    I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one wasting too much time on the computer. Unfortunately the down side is I’m sporadic with social networking which can be a bad thing too.

    Thanks for the great comments on The Real Mason’s cover. It’s one of my favorites. Well, I’m off to get these kids to school. TTYL

    Like

  7. Randi Alexander

    Hi Julia, what a darling puppy. Rescue dogs are so amazing, and they give back so much love. I’m excited to be group-blogging with you, and I look forward to getting to know you better.

    Like

  8. Lisa Baugh

    Love the puppy! she is super adorable! Can’t wait to see more of your blogs and learn more about your books.

    Like

  9. Julia, oh I know how you feel about social networks. Once they get a hold of you, you are toast..LOL..Love the cover of your book..It sounds very sexy..

    Like

  10. Hi Julia, so nice to meet you!

    The tinterweb is such a time robber, isn’t it? I would love nothing better than to spend all day reading and researching and chatting with people but like you said, that’s the day then. Gone, baby gone. I’ve steered clear of Pinterest because it looks so time-consuming. I’m not even on Twitter, but that’s bound to change with the 69ers, methinks.

    Ooh and congratulations on the puppy, and your release! Maybe I’m biased, but Ellora’s Cave has the best covers.

    Like

  11. Jasmine Haynes

    Hi, Julia! Wonderful to learn more about you! I totally hear you on the social media thing. The computer can really steal away our time for writing. Your puppy is darling! And rescuing a puppy is the best thing. Congrats on the new release, and that’s a great cover! It’s great to be on the blog with you and I look forward to getting to know you better!

    Like

  12. ebondreams

    Hi Julia, nice to meet you. I know what you mean about social networking I get sucked in all the time. Your puppy is gorgeous! Your book sounds great. Cannot wait read it.

    Nikki

    Like

  13. June M.

    Your puppy is so cute! Both of my dogs are adopted from previous abusive or neglected homes. They are now very spoiled, and along with my cat, pretty much rule the house and everyone in it.
    Social Networking is fun, but it definitely can draw you in and pretty much take over. I will have to check out your book, it looks really good.

    Like

  14. Mia Ashlinn

    Hi Julia! I am with you all the way on social networking. It is a drug…and I just have to have a fix – even when there are not enough hours in the day!

    My husband would love your geekiness! He is a total geek, too, so I am always partial to them. Not that I complain about living with his gadget fetish. We always have neat things floating around in our house. Though, on occasion, the gadgets end up being useless when they don’t catch on and go obsolete with time! I bet you know all about that. 🙂

    I am so happy that you are here. I cannot wait to read your posts and, hopefully, get to know you better! Have a great day! 🙂

    Like

  15. Mellisa Klock

    I love finding authors that are new to me! I bought The Real Mason this morning and I love it so far! Thank you 🙂

    Like

  16. Checking back in after a long, hellish day to find all these lovely posts. Thanks everyone, this has really made my day. I’m looking foreward to getting to know each and every one of you better. This is a great group!

    Like

  17. Your puppy is so adorable! Congratulations on your new release! I have similar characters in a book! He’s a dom, she’s sub, but neither would tell the other. LOL!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    Like

  18. flchen1

    Great to meet you, Julia! I do agree that social media can be such a timesink! I’m trying not to kill entire days trying to keep up with FB, Twitter, and whatnot! Love the sounds of your story–will have to check that out!

    Like

  19. ck15: Love your books can’t wait to read your new one. I don’t twitter but have an account not into it. I am just busy going to my favorite blogs of authors LOL
    Talking about puppies my sister’s two dogs had puppies. One had 8 and can’t give away four because she can’t get herself to let them go. The other one her puppies are to small haven’t opened their eyes.

    Like

  20. What an adorable puppy. Love the cover of your book and cannot wait to read it. Added it right away to my tbr list.

    Like

  21. Eva P.

    I hear you with the social networks, it was months after my sisters and brothers had been posting that I finally made the plunge and made an FB page and it was probably another year later that I started a Twitter acct, Twitter still confuses me here and there, but I love seeing all the author/blog posts. I get to hear about new stuff your working on, when it will release, etc.

    Like

Leave a Reply

